We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retired Austin Fire Fighters Breakfast”

Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #550 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Retired Austin Fire Fighters Breakfast”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We are treated like family here and get exactly what we order no matter how crazy the order. It's always good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, at any time of day”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great Mexican breakfast, including several kinds of migas.
Great dinner plates, delicioso!
Great lunch plates, not quite as large as the big dinner dishes/plates.

Casa Garcias on William Cannon is great! There's a lot of Mexican restaurants
in Austin, of course, but this one is hard to beat! Some evidence of that is the crowds
who come here for weekend breakfast, as well as the large percentage of Hispanic
customers in the restaurant - anytime. (We love Mexican style breakfasts, and they
have numerous items available, including eight types of migas, 20 other breakfast offerings,
plus more types of breakfast (and other) tacos than I can count, and they canbe ordered a la carte.

One great feature here is that you can order breakfast here anytime that they are
open - and any day they are open - unusual.

They have mariachis at 7 pm on Fridays, and if you get the right table, you can watch the
ladies making tortillas most days. The flour tortillas here are great! (We haven't tried the corn tortillas with a meal.)

Everything we have tried here has been very good, both the TexMex and the MexMex dishes. Honestly, we have hardly made a dent in the huge menu.

You're always greeted with a "Welcome to Casa Garcias" upon entering, and this is one of the cleanest looking Mexican restaurants we have ever seen. The décor is colorful without being too garish, and looks freshly painted. The waitresses wear old fashioned "uniforms" - ruffled neckline embroidered blouses and flowing skirts - a nice throwback to Mexican restaurants in San Antonio and Austin numerous decades ago. The service here is friendly and the service is good.

This location of Casa Garcias, a family owned local chain, has quickly become our favorite place for Mexican food since moving nearby in January 2013. It's located in the middle of a large, older strip center on the Southwest corner of William Cannon and Manchaca, facing inward, kind of across from CVS. It's adjacent to a large laundromat (hey, you could do your laundry while you're eating - lol).

They have a large bar area (make that a large bar "room" - it's a big area, located a few steps down from the restaurant - literally). The bar area has a huge bar top as well as numerous tables. It has its own entry from the street, or you can walk to it through the restaurant.

Try Casa Garcias on W William Cannon and Manchaca Road - you won't be sorry!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmemagicfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is great and always steaming hot!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been here multiple times and it is always the same each and every time. From the wait staff being friendly to the food coming out promptly and always steaming hot.
We live out of town and our kids live in Austin we always meet up and eat dinner here.
Always a pleasure !!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvestre s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great choice for Mexican food.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Always good food and friendly service. Nice adjoining bar. Great authentic Mexican food with a down home family atmosphere. You can catch Mariachis there, sometimes, on Friday nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing