We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, causal Italian restaurant.”
Review of Brick Oven on 35th

Brick Oven on 35th
Ranked #1,025 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $14 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great, causal Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my favorite casual Italian restaurant in town. I LOVE this place.

The restaurant itself is casual, but intimate and quiet. It's nice for a work lunch (good lunch specials), or a dinner with close friends. It's like being in a house, like many restaurants in Austin. The service is always very nice and attentive.

The food is so fresh and wonderful. I love that the salads contain NO ICEBERG LETTUCE. They consist of fresh mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, and cucumbers. If you're not a vegan, try their homemade Parmesan Peppercorn dressing. It's awesome.

As for the entrees, I've had many. Their pizza is great, but my favorite is the Spinach Ravioli. I usually ask for extra garlic, which is no problem since it's all made to order. It comes out great.

If you're in the mood for some fresh, causal Italian, try the Brick Oven on 35th. You will be pleased and may find your new comfort food place in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
319 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good pizza in European-feel setting”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here in mid-December as picked up rent car next door. Good, nicely dressed salad. Delicious meatballs. Very good margherita pizza. Decent red wine choice. Room had a cozy, European feel. Friendly, efficient waitress. Quiet dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gluten free!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this restaurant because it had a big selection of gluten free items for our son. He was excited to get some gluten free pasta. Gluten free pizza has become more mainstream, but gluten free pasta is less common. He chose the fettucine alfredo, but he was not happy with it. He said it lacked flavor, and he did not finish it. My husband and I enjoyed the Everything Pizza with goat cheese instead of anchovies, and our daughter said the kids' pizza was very good. My cousin enjoyed her spaghetti and meatballs, as well. Overall, it was a great meal, but we were disappointed that the gluten free pasta wasn't satisfactory.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“casual elegance”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Brick Oven has delicious Italian food. This restaurant is located in an old house providing a relaxed and intimate dining atmosphere. Oil paintings add to the decor. Service is attentive and polite yet friendly. I like to go there! parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clearspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
“Best Pizza around”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Do not confuse this Brick Oven with the other three--- Cozy little house with great pizza and the sandwiches are to die for. I did notice there were even choices for the Gluten free crowd.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaustex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brick Oven on 35th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing