We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best.”
Review of Liberty Tavern - CLOSED

Liberty Tavern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: We’re a Texas Tavern serving up a twist on pub favorites and comfort foods with 12 rotating local beers,3 cocktails on tap and plenty of Texas Spirits. Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner you can be sure to catch your hometown team on any of our 11 big screen TVs; whether it’s the English Premier League, Formula One Gran Prix, MLB, NFL or College Football, we’ve got it all in hi-def.Conveniently located in the Hilton Austin across from the Austin Convention Center, we’re in the heart of Austin.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Average at best.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want quesadilla and a beer then fine, otherwise skip it. The menu looks straight out of the '90's. There are better options off site.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    57
    50
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Ate here 3x in 3 days”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

In town for a real estate convention, I had 3 means here: breakfast (buffet - perfect selection), lunch (angus burger), and dinner (chicken). Especially loved the homemade potato chips. I also hosted a cocktail party here on a Friday evening for 45 people. Michael (manager) and his staff kept things moving with great regional snacks (nachos, stuffed peppers, quesadias, etc) and the bar service was exceptional. I was nervous about having a large meet & greet in this environment instead of a private room at the hotel but it worked out perfectly. Whether big groups or just for a quick bite to eat, this is a great choice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexKeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“about what you would expect”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located in the Hilton Downtown. It was ok but nothing special. Simple meal took 30 minutes when only 3 tables in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussiebuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were tired after checking in and had no idea where to eat dinner.....tried the Liberty and LOVED our meal....fries were delicious (swiped too many off my husband's plate!) Sandwiches were good, too. Service very adequate. Nice place for a casual meal. Well-appointed restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank annar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely eat here!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm a Texan - born and raised - and this is a perfect combination of southern comfort and gourmet taste. So yummy and the price is good for downtown Austin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsyfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing