We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere! Lots to offer!”

Magnolia Cafe South
Ranked #29 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere! Lots to offer!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband, formerly from Austin area, raved about this cafe! A friend and I checked it out and it is exactly what my husband remembered. The food was perfect and the service was excellent. Seated immediately, ordered within 5 min and received our food within 20 mins. Environment is perfect for any walk of life. I was in the mood for breakfast, so I got eggs, bacon and a pancake. My friend ordered a turkey melt with homefries, and said that it was really good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    263
    88
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local, quick, great food, comfy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was pregnant (read: hungry) and wanted something local, real, and wonderful. Enter Magnolia Cafe South. Perfect. Immediately seated, talked to like we were there weekly, recommendations were on-point, quick food, casual pace, perfect!
My husband and I sat for longer than we expected, talked to the server, got AMAZING recommendations for other local places (that turned out to be great too!), read the local papers, and took off when we were ready. We weren't rushed, pushed, or prodded.
Amazing options for vegetarians, vegans, and us carnivores!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gld2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Got there on Saturday morning at 11AM. Was told there would be a 20 min wait. Went next door to the gift shop. In 18 minutes, we were called and sat. Had to have a mimosa and migas (not from Texas and a must have). Service is excellent. Next time I HAVE to have the pancakes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melkel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simple, not a must”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I visited there yesterday and there was a huge line of people waiting outside the restaurant. Well in this case the food should be great (a thought passed my mind). Usually I don't wait for food there so many places around but since I was with a friend a new to Austin we decided to wait. The waiting area was crowded an opposite the rest room which were smelling awfully.Lucky us there was aplace in the terrace which we took so the waiting was not so long. I've ordered a veggie dish which was nice my friend went for the Tuna Salad. Both of them were tasty and the dressings are very nice. The price was reasonable but I don't think I will come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoupleIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our visit was ok, but I bet it's usually better...”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We ate at Magnolia on 1/1/14, New Year Morning. It was packed. We expected to wait but only had to wait about 15 minutes. Not bad. Needless to say, the food was just ok. I expected more from other reviews. My main issue was I ordered a veggie omelet and the veggies were still cool and crisp. They weren't cooked all the way. I think the cooks were rushing the orders out to keep customers moving. I'd bet on most every other day of the year, the food is much better. We don't live in Austin so I doubt we'll visit again, but we may if given the chance. I wouldn't write off Magnolia based on this review. It's a need place, great atmosphere and the menu is good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank graydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Cafe South also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Cafe South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing