We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love it! super yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Cafe South

Magnolia Cafe South
Ranked #35 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love love love it! super yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fast, delicious, eclectic, wide variety! What else could you ask for? Even the coffee is good. Went with 2 little kids, they had a monstrous chocolate chip pancake that they still talk about.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    258
    87
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GOOD BREAKFAST, yummy pancakes !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had been several times at The Magnolia, always for breakfast . They are just great . Great choice the Gingerbread pancakes , Migas are very taste, same as the crispy harsh browns so yummy . The portion sizes are really to be shared . The location is very easy to find and park . The service is very good and they are always open ! I will recommend it for sure ... just know their breakfast !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
197 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visited Magnolia Cafe for Breakfast and we were not disappointed. The breakfast was tasty and filling, I chose Eggs Benedict which were delicious and my husband had Ginger Pancakes amongst other things. We enjoyed the food, the service was pretty laid back, but we weren't in any hurry. I would recommend this cafe for breakfast, can't comment on other meals as we only had breakfast there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very disappointing given the reviews from TA & DDD reviewers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

When reading great reviews from TA & DDD reviewers, one's expectations become very high. I took my wife & college son to Magnolia Cafe South glowing with all of the comments from the reviews. My wife loves cheese enchiladas so she ordered them with roja/red sauce with the expectation that she would get light fluffy enchiladas with a tasty red sauce on them. What she received looked like a casserole covered in a heavy red sauce. You could not tell it was enchiladas & the red sauce so over powered the cheese she only had a few bites before pushing it away. I had one Sonora (beef) taco & one fish taco which were raved about in reviews. There were good, but nothing extraordinary. Our son got a cup of baked potato soup & a spinach omelette & that whese we realized our mistake. His omelette was large & he really liked it. The soup was fresh & he enjoyed it. So the morale of this story is to get breakfast & forget about the Tex-Mex.
Our server was a very pleasant lady that was there when we needed her, but not when we didn't. We also were seated very quickly & the rest of the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Open 24/8”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

WOW whenever you get hungry and you want a wide range of really good choices. Get ready for Great Coffee and friendly wait staff. OMG the pancakes are to die for too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Cafe South also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Cafe South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing