We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse

Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse
1603 W 5th St, Austin, TX 78703-4737 (Downtown)
(512) 320-1541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #474 of 3,414 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $7 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Their chefs salad is tops. Greens, egg, bacon bits, carrot, tomato, you name it. Top it with BBQ and select a BBQ Sauce for the meat and dressing for your salad. Self Serve drinks and extras

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate here because our cab driver recommended it (we said we wanted good BBQ) It was in the end of a strip mall. Atmosphere was good, but the place was mostly empty, maybe because it was a Monday night. My son and I both got the pulled pork sandwich. It had a really good flavor, but was rather tough. My potato salad was pretty good. Sandwiches did not have much meat on them. The guy at the counter was very friendly and helpful. Probably would not return if I was in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlishasHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A top rated BBQ place in Austin?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant because it was in the top 5 BBQ restaurants in Austin. We were so disappointed to find it a standard chain restaurant in a mall area. The ribs were very good and sauce acceptable. Potato casserole and salad were awesome, green bean casserole needed a lot of help. No wait staff, serve yourself. Don't believe there will be a second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a family tradition to eat here, it was my grandma's favorite (life long Austinite) and so we always stop to eat here. get the okra.. and the broccoli casserole..and the spicy bbq sauce.lol

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bccj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time at the is restaurant and the food was very good. It was affordable, however the portions was small.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing