We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A top rated BBQ place in Austin?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse

Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse
Ranked #791 of 3,564 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $7 - $7
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A top rated BBQ place in Austin?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant because it was in the top 5 BBQ restaurants in Austin. We were so disappointed to find it a standard chain restaurant in a mall area. The ribs were very good and sauce acceptable. Potato casserole and salad were awesome, green bean casserole needed a lot of help. No wait staff, serve yourself. Don't believe there will be a second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a family tradition to eat here, it was my grandma's favorite (life long Austinite) and so we always stop to eat here. get the okra.. and the broccoli casserole..and the spicy bbq sauce.lol

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bccj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time at the is restaurant and the food was very good. It was affordable, however the portions was small.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

They have an excellent menu for all sorts of bar-b-que. There are soooo many different sides you'll have a hard time picking just be sure and try the loaded potato salad. And try dessert too or take it home with you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank txros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pok-e-Joe's Catering is Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This review is for the catering aspect of Pok-e-Joe's which we used for a backyard BBQ the weekend of my wedding. The staff were super helpful especially since we tasted their food and decided that the flavor profile needed to be amped UP. The Catering manager accommodated our needs and on the day of delivery, the set up was flawless, they were punctual, patient and the food...OMG...DELICIOUS! We catered for about 75 people and at no time was the BBQ dried or anything less than YUMMY!!!!
I gave them 4 Stars because the initial food choices before increasing the flavor profile was quite bland and couldn't figure why Pok-e-Joe's would even consider serving such sub-par meat when they clearly can do better. Well done Pok-e-Joe's ! We would surely use your service again~

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing