We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great price, Great Locations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse

Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse
1603 W 5th St, Austin, TX 78703-4737 (Downtown)
(512) 320-1541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #475 of 3,415 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $7 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, Great price, Great Locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I went to this restaurant yesterday. My hubs and I both got a 2 meat plate for 9.99 each. The sides were fantastic, the meat as good as Salt Lick, which is a high end BBQ in Austin, I was very impressed. The servers were all really friendly and made our visit even more enjoyable. I also went to the Hancock Center Location. This location is new and not listed in trip advisor yet. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smile4u56584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Leave downtown Austin and make the effort to find Pok-e-Joe's in a nearby food mall. It is real Texas BBQ, frequented by locals, where they smoke all their own meats. I had brisket over salad, a light alternative to the typically heavy fare of the area. The BBQ sauce for dipping the meat was sublime, and I got a bottle to bring home. Also the service was friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good BBQ at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Service was fast and food was excellent. I had the new pulled pork sandwich and would definitely recommend it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank gunnstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
337 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Staff was really nice but food was just average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I love BBQ and i have to say, especially for Texas this was just average. They said the sausage was the best and the ribs were very popular too. They were decent, but nothing to write home about. Same with the sides. The staff was really nice and we had a nice chat. Its just too bad the food wasnt better.

G Man

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TX Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Our family has been going to Pok-E-Joe's for several years and have never been disappointed. If you are looking for awesome bbq, Pok-E-Joe's is a must! Our picks: Three meat plate with brisket (order the Moist variety), sausage and chicken; baked potato casserole; either mac & cheese or jalapeno corn bread and LOTS of regular sauce, sharing is optional.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TXFamilyFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing