We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no one is perfect”

Austin Pizza Garden
Ranked #495 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“no one is perfect”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I had given an excellent earlier review and normally I do not give additional reviews unless it is warranted and unfortunately this time it was. I stopped there last Tuesday night on the way home to pick up some pizza to take home. Kind of a special treat vs crappy pizza or so I thought. I was on hold for several minutes while I called ahead (I hung up when I got in the parking lot). It took more than 10 minutes to place a to go order, then it took 45 minutes to get the pizza. Now that really is not the big deal, it was the service or lack there of during my visit. I understand busy, I understand short staffed, but being constantly ignored was disappointing. I was offered one beverage while I waited. Evidently it was the last night for a Groupon coupon. Love the pizza, no hurry to go back. On that night crappy dominos would have made to a better choice, arggghhhhh.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midsouthbuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Order Nice Bryce with Pinneapple”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Service is sometimes slow, but the nice Bryce with pineapple is Always good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JahnaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Easy to pass by, but well worth the stop”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Finally found a great pizza place in a cool location that is family friendly and sells pitchers of beer! Now I had to pass on the pitcher last night, but that will not be the case next time. They had great pizza choices and of course you could choose your own toppings, but we went the #12 BASILICA – No Tomato Sauce – Walnut Pesto Sauce, Feta Cheese, Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Black Olives and the #17 MARGHERITA – Fresh Basil, Fresh Tomatoes, Fontina Cheese and Fresh Garlic.
Two kids also got there own little pizza and drink for $5.
The building was built the end of the 19th century and has an interesting history. It is a state of Texas historical landmark and ask to read the card they have about the history of both the building and the pizza.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midsouthbuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I had purchased a $20 Groupon for this restaurant in anticipation of an upcoming trip to visit my son at the University of Texas. I thought it might be a decent choice for Friday night pizza with his roommate.
The restaurant in located in an historic stone building (which has housed a number of restaurants since my days at UT) and the ambiance is pleasant and inviting. There are a number of "Signature" pizzas on the menu, e.g. Texas T-bone and Seven Layer Tomatillo, but you can also create your own from a large number of ingredients.
The menu touts that the crust is thin, but it was not the cracker-thin crust I was expecting. In fact, the crust reminded me of what you would find in a frozen pizza from the supermarket. The toppings we ordered were fine, but nothing special.
We had a pleasant dinner and the guys, of course, appreciated a free meal. The price was right with the Groupon discount, but I don't think I'll be making a return visit when I go to Austin again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longhorn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great little pizza place, a nice place to sit, eat and visit with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n5kur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin Pizza Garden also viewed

 

Been to Austin Pizza Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing