We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tex-mex imaginable!”

Trudy's North Star Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #659 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best tex-mex imaginable!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really thought before coming to Texas that it was all about the BBQ - but I'm beyond convinced that it truly is all about the tex-mex. Despite being packed on a Thursday before ACL, four of us were seated immediately. My jack and lemonade cocktail was excellent, and paired perfectly with the chips, salsa and guacamole. No words can describe the deliciousness that is the fried stuffed avocado. It simply must be experienced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllroyForPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    54
    26
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Martini's and an Austin Essential!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I always insist on going to Trudy's whenever I am in Austin. I will never forget my first dining experience at Trudy's when I was just 16 years old. Now, years later, it is still amazing as ever no matter which location you go to! The food is always great and the service is as well but the real reason for going to Trudy's is for their famous mexican martini! There is a limit of 2 and I have yet to find one anywhere else that even compares to the awesomeness that is Trudy's mexican martini! Don't pass this place up if you are new to Austin or just visiting!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thecrayonbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex favorite!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

One of our favorite dining spots in Austin! Love the menu/ food. I've liked everything I've tried. The patio is one of the few good ones in North Austin. The margaritas and Mexican martinis are to die for. Parking kinda sucks; but that's a testimonial to it's popularity. Be sure to treat yourself to this Austin original!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiratewannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Austin Casual at its best”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our 23 year old son took us to his favorite local TexMex joint. We taught him well. Nestled in a residential area two blocks off the UT commercial strip gave it a cozy atmosphere. We sat in the dining room which was a mix of families, hipsters, and young couples. He usually sits in the bar, but that was too crowded when we arrived so we enjoyed sitting in the main dining room. Great service, plates loaded with tasty food made it a bargain. Order a drink special and it's heaven. We started out with chips and salsa and followed it with a stuffed avocado, a chile rellano with shrimp and a standby Chile rellano - all accompanied by rice and beans. We'll go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Austin Legend”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I used to live in Austin for 7 years, and have recently moved to Dallas. Every time I go back, I always have to visit this restaurant. Try the stuffed avocado, or chili rellano, both of those dishes are amazing. Everything you have there is good, and if you drink, their Mexican Martini is wonderful. They bring it our in a shaker that will refill your glass two and a half times (limit two). I recommend going here if you go to Austin.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJ0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trudy's North Star Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Trudy's North Star Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing