We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and friendly staff”

Trudy's Texas Star Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #183 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: University of Texas
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sat outside at this restaurant and its a nice patio. The menu is so full it makes it difficult to decide. I went with the brunch and the Mexican Eggs Benedict which was amazing. I also tried the Mexican Martini which apparently they only allow two per person. We ordered Caso, chips and salsa, all which was very good. Our group was large and they kept the chips coming the whole time so we never ran out.

The servers were very attentive, the restaurant was very busy, even the manager came over and introduced himself and he was very nice and helpful....working just as hard as the servers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    89
    46
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco,ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OMG - Love it”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

OK this is not your average health food meal.
But if you go to Austin, you HAVE to go here. My local friends took me since this is their favorite Tex-Mex in a place that is bursting with Tex-Mex. I agree wholeheartedly - best meal in Austin.
Loaded Jalapenos for appetizers
Stuffed Avocado for an entree
And Mexican Martinis all around.
Perfectly delicious meal... mmm.
Though I suppose I should've gone for a run or something after this :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buytics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Trudy's - Truly a must-eat!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were visiting UT Austin and heard from a bunch of students that this is a must eat place. Boy were they right! We visited this place on a Saturday night and were lucky to get there at 6;15 pm and got seated pretty much right away (table for 5 adults, 2 kids). Our waiter was extremely helpful and we took his recommendations for food. He suggested the stuffed, fried avocado and the Cholula honey chicken. OMG they were both excellent! The chicken had a light, crispy outside and super moist inside and the sauce it came in was sweet and spicy. All of us raved about it and the stuffed avocado was amazing too. This was definately our best meal in Austin over the 3 days. We will be back every time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatupazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas in Austin!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to Trudy's, a place frequented by our kids and really enjoyed the food. The restaurant has a funky appeal but the highlight is the food and friendly service. Tables were too close together and the profanity from the next table was disconcerting. My bad for not asking them to turn it down, but shame on management for allowing it. We had an 11 year old with us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grayhog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, busy place...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

You can smell it from the parking lot—this is going to be a good place! And it was—best salsa I have ever had with the traditional chips and salsa (we had three servings); best Spanish rice and beans I have had as side dishes. Entrees were reported excellent by all, including our ethnic-food-challenged 11 y.o. We arrived about 8:30 on a weeknight, and the place was still hopping, but definitely slowed while we were there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank campblss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trudy's Texas Star Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Trudy's Texas Star Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing