We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican Food”

Las Palomas Restaurant - Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Palomas Restaurant - Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #480 of 3,728 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walsh Tarlton
Description: The "hidden jewel" of Westlake and West Austin's only authentic Interior Mexican restaurant and bar. Las Palomas' menu spans multiple regions of Mexico, as well as the cultures which influenced Mexico's cuisine, including Spanish, French, South American and Aztec tastes. Our signature Mole, Chile Relleno, Steak Chimichurri and Paella recipes reflect the delicious blend of multiple cultures, honed to perfection by Amelia Corona, our founder. Join us for a culinary trip across Mexico, enhanced by an accompanying glass of wine or fresh lime margarita.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is one of our favorite Mexican restaurants. Service is good and the food very good. We love the Tres Marias - three enchiladas (chicken) with different sauces, one being mole'. The mole' is also under the refried beans...tasty. The white rice looks ordinary but it has an excellent flavor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobtheBuilder39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been going to Las Palomas for almost 30 years and the quality has only improved with time. Love the fish dishes--can order different sauces and styles to fit one's mood. Great place to see friends and neighbors--the regulars are an important endorsement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmckphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood hang out”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food is consistently good, the outdoor seating is especially nice, and their mole is fabulous! Give it a try!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant is located in a shopping arcade tucked away in a corner. it was very busy on the Friday night we were there, but we had booked a table, although only a few hours previously. Although most of the tables inside and outside were occupied it did not seem crowded, with plenty of space between the tables. There was a nice buzz of conversation, so a good atmostphere was created.

One of our party does not like very spicy food, and the waitress was very good in giving advice on what to choose, even arranging for one sauce to be put on the side as opposed to being on the meal itself. The menu was reasonably extensive so you should not be stuck for choice, and the food was very tasty. Service was everything you would hope for.

So if in the area, search it out. Do not let its location put you off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not quite the same as Taco Bell”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The title I gave it might be a bit severe, as Las Palomas is pretty good all around, and obviously superior to the plethora of fast food joints we have here. Not quite the same in this case means a whole lot better, for those who don't appreciate my droll attempt at humor. The have a half dozen ways to serve broiled fish or shrimp, differentiating them with a variety of sauces. The seafood veracruz had good flavor and was cooked very well. The beef fajitas were just OK, and had an odd flavor which I didn't care for very much, but my wife found it acceptable. Service was very good, ambiance on a Tuesday late afternoon was excellent since there were no other customers there to drive the noise levels sky high, and the prices were in line with the quality of the food. It is not quite ready for prime time, but it is not average to mediocre either. I liked it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrumpeterEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Palomas Restaurant - Bar also viewed

 

Been to Las Palomas Restaurant - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing