We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Typical Dead-Cow-on-a-Plate Place”
Review of Hudson's on the Bend - CLOSED

Hudson's on the Bend
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Dead-Cow-on-a-Plate Place”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I come here rather often when we come out to the Lake and it never fails to impress.
It certainly isn't cheap, but you're not going to some overpriced, restaurant-of-the-month fusion place that you'll forget about a week later and will be gone in 6 months. Rather you're getting high quality food that's truly excellent.
There's plenty of great steakhouses to go to, but here you're getting more of a wild game menu that's constantly evolving. I've eaten everything from quail and scallops to Nilgai and Tyrannosaurs Rex (okay, not T-Rex). Their presentation is excellent and their waitstaff know what they're talking about when it comes to both the food and the wine. Oh and their wine selection is rather impressive too.
So all-in-all, skip all the fancy places in downtown and head on out west to Hudson's on the Bend for something that you won't soon forget. But don't forget to make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    45
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carnivore's Delight”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Before my son became vegan, we counted 12 animals that have their lives for our last meal there-and it was an amazing celebration of food down to the rattlesnake cakes. More recently, my husband & I celebrated an anniversary with dinner at this, his favorite restaurant It was hard to contain my rapture with the presentations of the food and the deliciousness of every bite. I'm afraid my husband thought I would soon sound like Meg Ryan in that diner and others would be saying "I'll have what she is having". The cozy rooms, attentive staff and laid back atmosphere ( no one scolded me when I suddenly realized the knob I was playing with was affecting the lights in the next room) makes for an Austin experience of unique fine dining. Be bold, ask for something you have never tried and you will be rewarded -down the rattlesnakes and venison. But leave room for dessert and enjoy a drink at their bar in preparation of the feast you won't forget

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

An amazing dining experience with very friendly staff. The dishes were amazing and well portioned. The elk and duck were perfectly prepared; tender, very flavorful and the sauces complimented each dish to enhance the natural flavors of each. The extensive wine list was great with a variety of price points to fit most budgets.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

When they say hill country cuisine, I was not sure what to expect. It essentially means that they use local game in a large portion of their dishes. The entrees were creative and very good. They update their menu quite often so it is worth checking it out several times a year for the seasonal changes. The deserts were very good as well. The dark chocolate dipped pecan pie and Japanese cherry carrot cake were really outstanding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StealAway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I have now dined there twice since 2005...”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

...and this place has not changed; I am "definitely" not a fan of their entrees. The atmosphere is lovely but the dress code (for Austin) needs to be "stepped up" for such an expensive restaurant! The wine expert did not give me a choice that even closely resembled what I would like in a white; their barbeque sauce is still terrible; and the choices of game I obviously do not like. It was on a date, thankfully I didn't have to pay! However, the best part was their dessert; I had the creme brullee which I enjoyed, yet all-in-all, overall it just was still not worth the high prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lnraug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing