We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the fixe prix dinner!”
Review of Hudson's on the Bend - CLOSED

Hudson's on the Bend
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the fixe prix dinner!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My brother took me to Hudson's on the Bend while I was visiting. The location is out by Lake Travis and the ambiance is sort of classy country - meaning it was laid back while fancy with great service. The food was amazing top to bottom, but I can't stop thinking about the smoked elk that was served as our main course. I highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torgeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    45
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hudson's is simply the best restaurant in Austin. Great service , laid back ambiance, and wonderful and unexpected favors. Our favorite place to celebrate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjb055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food, service and presentation extraordinaire! Visit Austin, Hudson's on the Bend is a must.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The experience of dining at Hudson's on the Bend is one you won't forget. It is nestled near Lake Travis, on the outskirts of Austin, in a small rock house that has been converted to an intimate, but efficient experience. On entering the area you are greeted by herbs and such growing in the garden. The rooms are small with several tables in each room. This is the creation of owner and chef, Jeff Blank, and his ideas with foods from appetizers to dessert are unique and always a new taste experience. The presentation can amaze the diner. A ceviche appetizer served in a fish bowl, with a live fish swimming beneath your fare to rattlesnake presented on a smouldering piece of cedar. I won't divulge more of their choices as it is always a surprise when you read the menu. The service is perfect, with not only your server, but others to keep your glasses full, and removing your finished course, right on schedule. You are never rushed, but if you have a time schedule to meet, they will oblige you. The entire experience is special and you'll not feel the drive from downtown Austin, which doesn't take over 30 minutes, is worth it.
We live in Austin and often enjoy taking their Cooking School, which is held at Blank's home complex. When weather permits, and it usually does, it is held in the out-of-doors. After the schooling by chefs we go to the restaurant to indulge. A wonderful way to spend a Sunday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momaclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Went for a Birthday”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I took my husband for his birthday. He had been working out of town and I invited all of the people he had mentioned that he had not seen in a while. We ended up with about a dozen people and the food was amazing and I thought the price was very reasonable. We were given a side room to ourselves and it was a really nice experience.

Helpful?
Thank txtfa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are a foodie this is the place to go great atmosphere from selection to presentation outstanding

Helpful?
Thank Bud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing