We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Sunday brunch”

Freda's Seafood Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Freda's Seafood Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 3,728 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Level Contributor
195 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty Sunday brunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tried the Sunday brunch and it was pretty darn good! Nice selection of surf and turf-snow crab, shrimp, catfish, crawfish stuffed avocado, prime rib, standard breakfast fair, gumbo, and my favorite, pecan crusted tilapia. Service was great and the atmosphere was relaxing and not too noisy! The only complaint is the cooks were not prepared for the number of people on this particular Sunday because they ran out of food a couple of times. Hard to enjoy a brunch when you have to wait for food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    52
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Went to Freda's to get the Salt Lick Barbeque Out of My Mouth”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

In April 2013 I was in Austin Texas for the Moto GP Race at Circuit of the America's [COTA] Race Track. On Thursday a friend and mine ate at The Salt Lick. I do not believe I have had worse food anywhere else I have dined. On Friday, the front desk of my hotel suggested Freda's Seafood Grille next door. My friend and I walked over. From the time we walked in and were greeted, the staff made us feel welcome. I had lobster bisque soup, Caesar Salad, Center Cut Filet and baked potato. My receipt came to $26.95. The atmosphere was sophisticated. The service was quick and attentive. The prices were moderate for a great steak. I would have paid more. I will eat hear again in April 2014 when I go to the races at COTA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice Sunday brunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed Freda's Sunday brunch this week. The food was freshly prepared and tasted great. We enjoyed sampling the pecan crusted tilapia, prime rib, biscuits and gravy as well as the steamed snow crab. My favorite item was the shrimp and crab stuffed shrimp. The mimosas were yummy and just the right size. We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice for family Sunday brunch”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food was fresh and OK. Service was a bit slow and tough to get coffee refilled but the family enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Who knew???”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really enjoyed the food and staff. I had the crab and shrimp stuffed avocado and it was delish (cold and fresh). The burger was full of flavor and huge. I would go back for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freda's Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Freda's Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing