We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of The Oasis

The Oasis
Ranked #104 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 620 and 2222
Cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a huge restaurant on several floors. The car park is so big that a shuttle service operates to take you from car to restaurant.

The menu is not that big and not that exciting. However the food was quite good but not spectacular. What is spectacular is the views from the terraces over the lake. Apparently at sunset it is truely special, but even mid afternoon when we visited it was very good.

There is a large number of staff, but possibly due to the fact this restaurant is on several floors, service is not that quick.

There appears to be several people going round the tables trying to sell things to you. When we were there a balloon seller was doing the rounds making novelty balloon hats as required.

Outside there is a shopping complex with gift shops, wine shops, ice cream shops etc. You could happily spend a number of hours just wandering around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    819
    607
    246
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Sunset”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is beautful. We sat upstairs in the Star Light room overlooking the cliffs and the water. The band was playing...music was great....the view was gorgeous and then just when we thought it couldn't get any better I looked up and the sun was setting. It was like a postcard or something. Absolutely stunning. I can't wait to go back! If you stop through Austin you absolutely MUST stop by the Oasis on Lake Travis.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wiseone220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I visited here this past weekend with my boyfriend for a couple of drinks. We're from the Houston area and were in Austin for the weekend. He had already been here before and let me know that the food was just too average for the price which is why we only had drinks at the bar then walked around to enjoy the scenery. It's a beautiful place, no doubt about that (including the drive there!) I really loved The Oasis and could not get over how gorgeous it was.

I would definitely recommend this place if you want to have a few drinks while enjoying a great view. I also heard that at sunset, it can get pretty packed because of how popular the view is. We didn't stay for that, being that we wanted to go down to the actual lake instead.

Overall, for just a quick stop to enjoy with your loved ones, it's a great place to see! I can't comment on the food only because I didn't try it. But from the plates I saw that people around were eating, nothing too great that caught my attention.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisclchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“My second and last visit”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Oasis is such a landmark restaurant for Austin that we wanted to save it for special occasions. I went once for my Dad's birthday and the food was awful. It had been years but I wanted to try it again. This time it was my birthday.

First we asked for a nice table, and they said outside in the shade would be nice. The first table was in full sun and I had to ask to move because they promised us shade. The second table was about 1/4 shaded, and the rest was full sun. I did not want to be a stickler, so I suffered in the sunlight sweating my brains out. I thought surely a margarita would help, but that was not to be.

The next issue was the food was just as awful as the first time. The orders were wrong and a burger my husband ordered as medium came dripping with blood it was so rare.

Since it was my birthday I ordered the $18 margarita since it was supposed to come with a shaker and was served out of it. Instead I just got a regular tea glass with a regular margarita that lasted for about three sips. I was told the bartender shook it at the bar. I questioned the manager and the waitress about charging patrons so much for that drink and they said it was normal.

So if you do go, PLEASE DO NOT ORDER THE $18 MARGARITA. IT IS NOT WORTH IT.

Even though I tried to order a second margarita it took so long that we were done eating. I would have rather been slightly more inebriated for my birthday dinner, but their drinks were overpriced and worthless.

I still gave her a 20% + tip because that is just the kind of person I am, but the service SUCKED.

The food SUCKED.
The view SUCKED because it was not shaded and you fried out in the blaring sun.
The management sucked, and they were not understanding at all.

I wont be back, but I know it wont do any good to tell people not to come because it is a landmark. Which is sad because the restaurant will never improve.

But if you have any sense, do not go to the oasis. There are other restaurants in the area that are better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliebork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The only reason to come here is the view.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've eaten here three times and every time I tell myself I'm not coming back because the food is always such a disappointment. Sure, if you're not going for the food, it's a nice hangout. This has a huge lakeside complex of windows and tables with great views. Go for the drinks and snacking, don't go for a nice dinner, don't waste the money. This is a well known fact about the Oasis and if the owner cared to make the dinner as pleasurable as the views, this would be the hottest spot in Austin.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oasis also viewed

 

Been to The Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing