We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased Yet Again!”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #427 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Abuelo's offers guests a chance to experience the incredible flavors of Mexico, combining authentic, made-from-scratch standards with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Executive Chef Luis Sanchez creates each recipe using only premium ingredients to provide superior taste, rich with culture. Choose from the impressive selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties like the best Flan in Austin. Escape to the courtyard under our beautiful sky and savor the exceptional food and drink that is Abuelo's signature. You can also choose to come in for one of our weekly specials, including Tapas and drink specials Sun-Fri 3pm-7pm or reverse happy hour from Sun-Thurs 8.30-10Pm. Experience and discover why Abuelo's has been voted the #1 Mexican restaurant for six straight years by America's most respected independent consumer rating magazine.
Marion, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleased Yet Again!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

After discovering Abuelo's quite by accident about five years ago, we have always been served great tasting, freshly prepared Mexican fare in a casual, but refined atmosphere by attentive staff. I ordered the Chicken Ranchera which was designated as a new menu offering. The chicken breast was moist and tender, smothered in a well-seasoned spicy red sauce, served with two enchiladas--I chose spinach topped with cream sauce and a traditional cheese enchilada, charro beans and their delicious pappas con chile (mashed potatoes with Mexican spices and cheese). Husband ordered the Chilies Rellenos and was happy with his choice. We enjoyed our usual carafe of sangria, and we even shared a slice of the delectable creamy and tangy Margarita Pie. Considering we drive almost an hour one way to dine at Abuelo's, we do reserve it for special occasions. The quality of the food is first rate and service is top notch. I only wish we lived closer so we could go more often!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rigbychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harper, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Consistently GREAT!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We don't live in Austin anymore, but try and make it to Abuelos when we can. The food and service are both fabulous. I love the stuffed chicken medallions and they didn't disappoint today, along with the papas con chile'. The chicken is stuffed with chorizo and has some queso in a small cup to put on if you like. The papas are so yummy, like a mexican version of mashed potatoes...heaven! My husband got the Salmon Sante Fe and enjoyed it just as much. Love the chips which are so light, have never had them anywhere like this.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Excellent food -- especially their grilled salmon. Nice patio, but not that many people seem to eat out there.

Helpful?
Thank Travel78746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I love their shredded beef enchiladas!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Awesome food! The service is A+++! Possibly one of the best Mexican restaurants here in Austin,TX.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Abuelo's...no bueno...”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Abuelo's is nicely decorated, with a good wait staff, but sadly the food was not up to par with the rest of the experience. My tortilla soup was very salty. The tilapia veracruz was bland and not very satisfying. This was a disappointing chain restaurant experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveller20203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing