We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”

The County Line on the Lake
Ranked #94 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family loves the bbq and the homemade bread at County Line. It's always a favorite place to go for bbq.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    124
    59
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly Overrated Tourist Trap”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have lived in Austin for 30 years. We give the County Line a try about once a year thinking it will get better.... It just gets more expensive. The BBQ is highly overrated! Neither County Line has good BBQ and the wait has always been an issue. Go to Rudy's instead!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredCoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything I had been told”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A friend in Tennessee who is originally from Texas told me to be sure I had some beef BBQ when she found out we were headed that way for 3 weeks. In Galveston we ate fish, in San Antonio we had Tex-Mex; so Austin was our BBQ town. The County Line fulfilled everything I had been told. The price was comparable for a platter meal at any restaurant, and the food was plentiful. Between my husband and I, we had pulled pork, a quarter chicken and the beef brisket. The first two were good, butt the brisket was WONDERFUL. Although we try to eat at different places each night, we will make a point to return to this restaurant before we leave Autin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahBroyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, but sketchy boating in”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Love the BBQ ribs here...get a whole slab and go to town. Just be wary if you try to boat in using anything besides a canoe. We actually had to jump out of our boat and push it off of rocks twice. The waterway is not very clearly marked. Honestly, it would not take much effort to resolve this problem and save some hull damage.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exlongh0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never a Bad Meal, Always Consistent”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have eaten here probably fifty times over the years. Enjoyed lunch on a recent Saturday with a group of friends. As usual the food was excellent, the portions generous, the beer cold, and the service far above average. I enjoy this location as it's on Bull Creek and it's always nice to enjoy a beverage and appetizer on the deck while waiting for a table to open. There's better barbeque "joints" throughout Texas, but there are no others that I am aware of, that provide the full level of service, the great atmoshere, and the full Texas "experience" like the County Line. I've never been disappointed, ever!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodwinegoofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Line on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to The County Line on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing