We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alborz Persian Cuisine - CLOSED

Alborz Persian Cuisine
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Food is well prepared. Gourmet Lamb is wonderful. Many good vegetable dishes. Well worth the price. A+

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank josephedward71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay away!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

there were flies on the table that made us leave. the service is awful and they over charged us about 40 bucks that ruined our night at Austin. Just stay AWAY.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant, family fun”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ate family style with several relatives ages 60 to 15 to the 3-year-old twins! Went on a Saturday night where a kindly belly dancer appears starting at 7:45 pm. The kids loved her, standing around her trying to dance. The only down side for me was limited bar -- no mixed drinks. Beer was just barely cold enough for me -- but they fixed it. I'm picky. Overall, wonderful family evening out. Will definitely go again. Food was good, healthy. Something for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iliketoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than I Expected!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I confess that I have little - okay, almost no - knowledge about Persian food. Here is what I can tell you, though: it tasted good.

I've visited twice now and both times had the lunch buffet. The food on the buffet was hot and looked fresh. It looks like the restaurant has been here for a while and has belly dancing some evenings. Sounds fun!

There were some familiar things from Greek restaurants I have been to (hummus, tabour).

I don't know the names of these dishes, but I'll try to describe them so you get an idea of what they have:

There were some baked chicken dishes (one casserole with rice, raisins, and chicken that was great) and some chicken soups.
There was also some lamb and beef kabobs.
I found the various rices tasty and the salad with parmesan dressing good as well.

There is also this "sticky rice" that is the scrapings off the bottom of the rice pot. It gets caramelized and is good to chew on or to put some of the soupy dishes on.

There are a few breads: one is a flat cracker-like bread, and the other was more of a spice cake.

For dessert there was fruit and some kind of vanilla rice pudding with rose water. The rose water flavor kind of threw me off as I felt like I was eating perfume. Not bad, just odd.

This was an interesting place and I would go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MALDRIDGERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Middle Eastern food in Austin”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recommended by a colleague, the lamb shank with persian rice was a full and sumptuous meal. I would definitely recommend this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank neelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alborz Persian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing