We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Austin institution!”

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #19 of 3,684 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Barry, south Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Austin institution!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

If visiting Austin, you must go to Rudy's for true Texan Barbecue food. It's not pretentious (you eat off paper) but the food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Try the brisket - it's heavenly!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikeatccj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    484
    94
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My family stopped by here as per our extended family's urging, and we were not disappointed. If you admit to being new at the counter the cashier will let you sample the different meats and sides that they are serving.
I liked the extra lean brisket as well as the sauce. You can get as much bread, onions and pickles as you want as well as sauce. Like everyone says, the cream corn is very good too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Melt in your Mouth BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best BBQ I've ever had. Spent an entire week in Texas eating bbq (Dallas, Austin, San Antonio, Ft Worth) and the extra moist brisket at Rudys is the best bbq I've ever had anywhere! Great prices as well! The brisket had a nice smoke ring & crusty on the outside, yet just melted in your mouth! Don't let the fact that they have several locations deter you into thinking it's just another bbq chain.

Helpful?
Thank CroatianChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Brisket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Took my son and his gf there for the first time, and all I can say is...I WANT MORE! By far the best brisket I've ever had. Loved the fact they have varying degrees of "juiciness". They also give you samples if you'd like. So tender, the slight smokiness, and dripping with juicy goodness! The sides are great too, not just an afterthought. The staff is great and love to help out and welcome first timers. I would be there on a weekly basis if I lived in Austin. I like the fact it's kind of a no-frills restaurant (inside the gas station). You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieG507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rudy's is the real deal for brisket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

A friend took me to Rudy's in Austin when I was visiting. It was spur of the moment, and my friend recommended the "moist" brisket. I have always thought BBQ was about ribs, but I have heard how good the brisket is in Texas. Rudy's was outstanding. The brisket was moist and falling apart, with a slight smoky flavor. It was a real treat. The sides that we had -- cole slaw and creamed corn -- were also excellent. The setting was informal and pleasant, less noisy on the outside patio where we sat than indoors. Service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing