We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbeque”

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #18 of 3,728 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

An Austin institution that lived upto its name. The meat was tender and juicy. The sides were plentiful. The service was courteous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank new2tx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    501
    95
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
2 reviews
“Great food but overrated”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Turkey: great taste and best item on the menu
Brisket: it was ok, I ordered the cutters cut which is more juicy but not what I expected from the hype it receives

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uthman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Some of the best Texas BBQ”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Not fancy but some of the tastiest brisket I have had. I have only had the beef but will be back when in Austin to try the chicken and pork.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eckho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OMG Melt in your mouth brisket!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love BBQ and grilling and heard from a local to check out Rudy's. Pulled in the lot and it was a gas station? Debated on leaving, but the smell of smoked wood changed my mind.

I was warned this was casual, and it sure was! Wax paper plates and plastic crates to hold your food. Very casual, but very clean. A real good Texas vibe about the place.

I had both juicy and lean beef brisket and it was unlike any brisket I've ever had. The bark was perfectly crispy and the meat so tender it melted in your mouth. Creamed corn was unlike anything I've ever had.

Place is a fun atmosphere including a TV screen that shows the cooks slicing and chopping the meats.

Tip: Mention to the cashier if you are a first time visitor for a surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

They turned my frown (got lost) right around in ten seconds flat. As newbies to their process of welcoming the non-Rudy initiated (must experience this!) The roasted turkey was the best I ever had and that Bisket! All this before being bowled over by incredible baby back's And that Sauce! Why hunt more when you found the best?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing