We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bar-B-Q” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #19 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Bar-B-Q”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The whole concept of a restaurant with a gas station and convenience store is very entertaining. But the real star is the BBQ. It is simply tremendous. We visited two Rudy's and noticed the "North Austin" site was a bit better than the "West Austin" site. But both places had excellent BBQ. The Briskit was good but the ribs (all types) are to die for!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mustangkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    474
    93
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was a little concerned when I pulled up to a large red barn with gas tanks out front, but the BBQ here is fantastic! I usually get the sausage or turkey, but my husband LOVES the brisket. :-) The sides are also pretty tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Texas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I know that's saying a lot, but simply try it and see waht you think. The extra moist brisket is the best place to start. Follow that with the turkey...easily the most moist turkey you'll ever eat. Top it with their classic BBQ sauce. Perfect! Just need to get over the fact this is all in an extended gas station. :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exlongh0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the kind of place you want to visit on vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The BBQ here was amazingly good, the staff were as entertaining and nice. Someone else said this was more of an experience than a meal (another reviewer on here) and they were 100% correct. We will definitely stop in again even if it's out of our way the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam1_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
197 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
“Better than Franklin's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Yes, this place was a lot better than Franklin's. The turkey and the ribs were at least cooked better than at Franklin's. The turkey was moist and a nice flavor and the ribs were not overdone. Plus Rudy's had some really good BBQ sauce, unlike Franklin's.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank CentralCoastWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing