We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal food / awful service ”
Review of Kerbey Lane Cafe

Kerbey Lane Cafe
Ranked #173 of 3,728 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unreal food / awful service ”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to the cafe 2 times since I was staying nearby. The good was absolutely delicious. Sucks that it was over shadowed by the awful service. The girl with the "love me" tattoo on her neck could possibly work on her manners/enthusiasm/anything would help. Over heard the table behind us asking her to split their ticket and she basically snapped on them saying it was and that they were dumb. She then took about 10 minutes to get us change - because obviously texting was more important (yes, we could see you) and proceeded to give 10$ in singles for change.

Just because you give us a bunch of $1s doesn't mean we're going to use them to tip you if you're horrible at your job.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    36
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
173 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than a diner in Longhorn territory”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were looking for a diner type place and glad we found this Kerby Lane. We had a fantastic server, Emma. Food was good. Known for pancakes but we opted for eggs and such. Nice vibe at restaurant. Everyone was friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Find”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The manager at the DoubleTree Hilton recommended this place. It was about a mile walk from the hotel which was perfect on a November morning. The service was great, and we all loved the flavored pancakes -- pumpkin, gingerbread, apple cinnamon. The food and coffee was hot and tasty. The staff was friendly, and the service was prompt. Great recommendation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAR_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“$2 Mimosa”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had never heard of such a deal in my life, but it was amazing! I swear when I looked at that menu I had to ask my friends if that was pricing or just listing what line of the drink menu "mimosa" was on. You can swap in grapefruit juice for OJ too which is fantastic. Also, the food? Delicious. Their pancake specials are worth a short stack to share at the table.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pretty disappointed...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Heard great things about this place...
I had french toast which WAS delicious but it was served with margerine instead of butter which was cheap and nasty.
The other people in my party has a tortilla soup, a sheperd's pie and a gumbo... They were all terrible (sorry Kerbey Lane). I am from the UK and that is not a sheperd's pie. My boyfriend is from Southern Louisiana and that was not gumbo!! I would not come here again and was very disappointed. Keep up the good work on the french toast though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerbey Lane Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kerbey Lane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing