We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and Otherwise Just OK”
Review of El Sol y La Luna

El Sol y La Luna
Ranked #931 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
576 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Funky and Otherwise Just OK”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our group was here a little late and the food and service were fine, though not spectacular. The decor was good and the bar selections rocked, but the place was otherwise fairly dead. The location in the middle of everything was real nice. Everyone seemed well satisfied with their choices from the fairly wide menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cool Little Mexican joint”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We ate some good Mexican food and it was nice place but I would imagine on a weekend with live music; it would be a must eat at joint on 6th.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rubymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good flavorful fajita & great michelada”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Dined alone while on travel for work. It was a monday which was a new night to be open for them. Anyway I ate super late so not many people out. Ordered a pick your own beer michelada! Had mine w dos Equis. The michelada was a great bloody Mary mix. I also had steak fajitas. Dirt cheap.. $10? Really?? Such good flavor skipped the corn tortillas to eat more mex rice, ref pinto beans, & steak!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xyliafanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place food ok”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I had the fajita plate for lunch. Beautiful inside. Looks like a great bar selection. Enough food but steak was pretty chewy, and no beans in pinto beans just mush. Tasted good but I still like to see the beans. Ordered the guacamole with it and got about two tablespoons. Waitress was very attentive and nice. I believe it moved to corner of red river and 6th street or there is a second location on congress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, MD
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food, Art and Music”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We didn't stay late enough for the music but the place was nice and empty since we showed up for early dinner on a weekday. That meant we had awesome service, all the food was really good and I ate wayyy too many chips with salsa before the food showed up. Will save room for dessert next time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hairywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sol y La Luna also viewed

 

Been to El Sol y La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing