We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere - A Bit Off the Beaten Path”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #739 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Austin
Eden, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - A Bit Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our server was delightful, the food was good and the restaurant was located along the downtown river and off the beaten path which was refreshing! Our only complaint was that one of the meals was delivered to the table well before the others by another server. Once delivered all the food was hot and tasty. The manager came by to be sure we were having a good experience and once told about the food delievery was quick to offer a complimentary desert and assured us that she would follow up on the matter. She later returned to the table to thank us for the visit - we really felt valued as a customer! We'll definitely be back when we're in the area!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyK76837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best Joe's I've been to”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Joe's is always good. The location of this one is great! Nice views of the river from the terrace and you can also see a good part of downtown Austin. If you like good crab and fish, this is your place...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWSHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Although the menu didn't vary from other Joe's locations, the location on Town Lake makes this experience one you'll go back to over and over.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAuntBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“best Joe's”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hadn't been to Joe's anywhere for awhile. Found the Austin, TX location by luck. Well this one has the view of the lake that beats almost anyone. We sat outside and enjoyed the view and really improved food. The server was the best we can remember, very attentive, checked back regularly, kept us refreshed.The newest owner group we were told has jump-started the menu w a variety of seafood pots, and they were great. Made us put Joe's back on our list, Austin view or not...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXhome1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere in a "shack"”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff is very attentive and courteous ( the manager checked on us twice ) and the food and drinks were served promptly and were delicious. There is an outdoor patio for smoking and a great river view.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing