We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmelo's of Austin”
Review of Carmelo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Carmelo's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Red River
Transit: Armadillo Trolley.
Description: Since 1981 Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano has been one of the top Italian restaurants in Texas, with locations in Houston (near the Energy Corridor) and Austin (conveniently downtown). At both locations, we offer the extraordinary Italian food we are known for plus a wide selection of traditional meat, seafood, and pasta dishes, as well as creating modern versions with vegetarian and vegan, and gluten-free options. Carmelo's features a full bar that offers a selection of Italian beers and liquors, along with an extensive wine collection consistently recognized with the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence." Carmelo's is perfect for your lunch business meeting, family dinner, a casual group of friends, or for private events and celebrations in one of several private dining rooms accommodating up to 140 guests.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carmelo's of Austin”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant was recommended and did not disappoint! Great location, excellent ambience, good wine list and a great menu. Service was great! Food was wonderful. I was especially delighted to see that they had 2 dishes (that are usually prepared tableside) that are hardly ever offered anywhere else.....Steak Diane and Bananas Foster. I had both and they were really, really good! They even had a strolling accordion player. I would definitely return to Carmelo's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    82
    31
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Timeless Italian”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

There are many excellent restaurants in Austin, and this one is probably the best of the best. There was an excellent wine menu, we had an excellent chianti. All five of us had different meals, each was outstanding. Two of us got dessert - a cheesecake, and a tiramisu. With the tiramisu we got the history of tiramisu from our waiter. For me, they had a separate gluten free menu, and the waiter explained that most of the entrees could be made GF if I desired. Without my asking, I was brought out GF bread, which, was the best GF I've ever, ever tasted. Best food, best service, best atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian I have had in a long time, wonderful service. ”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service and prefect Italian atmosphere with building and garden area outside. Great wine selection. Offered us free appetizer of some sort of sausage in a cream/meat sauce. It was very good. Meals were all wonderfully prepared and presented and we finished every bite. Risotto was perfectly cooked and tasted great. Nice that they offered small and large sizes on some entres. Deserts were not run of the mill. Large selection and hard to choose which one to have. Great presentation and weren't overly sweet. Finished them as well.

Helpful?
Thank Shana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I'm so conflicted...”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I'd love to give this place 6 stars for some elements, then some things realistically rare a three or four. Bottom line, I'd love to buy this place, make just a few tiny changes and make a million dollars leaving everything else as-is. The building/location/ambiance: really smart that they have free valet. Parking in downtown Austin is a nightmare. And the guy they had directing in the lot was great and friendly. Courtyard is amazing and beautiful, it would be beyond amazing to host an outdoor party on a fall evening with twinkle lights everywhere (I went for lunch so no idea if they have twinkle lights in the courtyard, but if I bought or rented the place, they'd be there. What I'd change is that the interior is very dated and a few fairly minor changes could make this spectacularly high end casual-elegant. For the food: the Pisa salad was incredible. Presented well and flavor excellent. Any changes there would be just plain wrong. On the other hand, the gumbo: as an 'interpretation' of gumbo it was good. It had nice flavor and the roux had nice color. But the menu references Louisiana so I had a certain expectation. Louisiana gumbo does not have scallops. Nor chunks of veggies. But again, it tasted good. Other plates around the table and restaurant looked excellent. Service: it was good all around. Friendly and available without being patronizing or overbearing. So, I'm stingy with my 5 star reviews, but there are very few restaurants that cause me to have the thought, "Man, I'd love to buy this place". So five stars it is, even though it wasn't absolutely flawless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tx_hr_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old time Italian restaurant vibe and food was excellent”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to Austin many times but was not familiar with Carmelo's which has been in the same downtown location for over 25 years. We, more or less stumbled in as we were looking for a lunch place around 6th St. We were happy with our serendipitous find. The menu was a bit pricey (for a lunch) but the food was excellent, particularly the chicken ossobuco style with mushroom risotto. The tasty pizza, with fresh tomatoes and greens, was more than 2 people could eat. Given the mediocre nature of most Italian restaurants, Carmelo's is a real find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing