We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food bar rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Market

Central Market
Ranked #280 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food bar rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The kids meal grilled cheese was incredible. Grapes had seeds. Tortilla soup AMAZING. Salad bar great selection. Portions are LARGE. Definitely worth the $$$$ which I thought was reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    51
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upscaled HEB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For me it's somewhere in between HEB and wholefood. Summer roll is my favorite. I also liked their fresh squeezed juice a lot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not as nice as S Lamar, but a great place for music and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Not as new as it's South Lamar cousin, the food is on a par... good $5 soup selection, and the sandwiches and pizza are good, if not a little pricey. The café has an indoor area, a plastic enclosed area for cooler nights, and an outdoor space. Top Tip, grab some bread and cheese from the attached grocery store, or other such items to bolster you dinner and dessert options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RCraigCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beats Trader Joes any day of the week.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went into Central Market after searching for Trader Joes on Yelp. I was amazed at the variety of the produce section. The wine and beer departments are well stocked. I found some unique wines that I thought were winery only and not distributed. The breads, desserts and prepared foods are excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sail_or_Dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I miss it SO MUCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

One of my favorite things in Texas: Central Market. Great local and international food (cheeses, chocolates, pasta...), wonderful events, attentive staff. Central Market has the whole package. I wish there was a grocery store like it in the Bay Area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lane_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market also viewed

 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing