We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time a charm”

Zax Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #113 of 3,708 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Austin
Cross street: Riverside Dr.
Transit: Conveniently located on the Cap Metro 5 line.
Description: Casual American Bistro setting. Featuring 20 beers on tap, elegant wine list and a full bar. Zax is a great place for a relaxing meal with family or friends! Be sure to visit us on Pint Night every Wednesday night from 6-8 pm!
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second time a charm”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stopped in for lunch since it was near my hotel and ordered a turkey burger. It was over cooked and tasteless. The next day it was 104 degrees at 7pm and i did not want to walk downtown so I went back because of the proximity to the hotel. i ordered the evening special (the server's recommendation) which was wild caught cedar plank Alaskan salmon served over saffron rice with fresh green beans. It was as good a salmon dinner as I ever had. I am glad i went back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    66
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Found this while perusing the area - liked the menu from the outside. Quickly seated on a Saturday night and received very attentive service. Tried the beer options after discussion with server who seemed pretty knowledgeable. Ordered several appetizers to get a great variety of food options. All were very good but not over the top. Child ordered a burger and fries and it was exceptional. Great flavor ! Hummus was good, but slightly watery. Overall, it was enjoyable and reasonable in price. Would absolutely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Waited 15 minutes for someone to come to our table. Ordered food. After an hour, still no food. Had to leave to get to a show. I'll never go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajs78660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“love this hidden gem”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love this restaurant that is walking distance from Hyatt hotel. Very eclectic menu. Been there 2 times, once for lunch and once for dinner. Loved my entrees both times. Really like the atmosphere which is dressy casual/slightly upscale. Has vegetarian friendly and gluten free items.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shaded outside area, great service and food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a gem. In four visits, not one disappointment. The food is excellent (the seafood skewers with cilantro were amazing) and the beer and wine selection is guaranteed to satisfy. You can sit inside, which is relaxed and pleasant, or out the back under an umbrella and enjoy the shade. Definitely a place to try on your next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zax Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing