We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious home style barbie at a good price”
Review of Stubb's Bar-B-Q

Stubb's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #81 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
suffolk uk
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delicious home style barbie at a good price”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

From the outside you could easily overlook this place, its an old stone walled joint, just off the main drag in Austin.
It is superb. Inside the old stone walls are decorated with great interesting photos and Texan artifacts.

The food is scrummy and very fairly priced, you can have a combo plate for a few dollars a choice of meat, I especially liked the pulled pork, but the chicken is good too, plus sides. These include proper home made potato salad, none of that slimy stuff you sometimes get in the UK, coleslaw, fries, mac and cheese, onion rings. We found this option delicious and filling enough but the very hungry can pile up their plates with great food. There a bar with atmosphere and excellent Margeritas. Loved it and went back the next night !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartesthorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    298
    178
    51
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ! ”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Went during lunch time and looked like a great place to enjoy music during the evening with an indoor stage and outdoor stage area. My husband and I shared a major meal with brisket, ribs, and sausage with cole slaw and sweet potato fries. It was the perfect size for both of us! The ribs and cole slaw were my favorite. Presentation of the food could have been better but all items were delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Sleepyeyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandusky, ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“texas style bbq”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

as far as texas style bbq, this is pretty decent. i am not a huge fan of the texas style dry rub bbq, but i enjoyed my dinner there on my recent trip. went with the bbq chicken meal, pretty tasty!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jakepliskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Brisket”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had lunch at Stubb's and enjoyed it a lot. It wasn't crowded and the food was all good. I think the Brisket was the most tasty, but the pulled pork is good too. In the evenings, with the music and more people this would be even better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but was expecting more”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch, the pulled pork and brisket were very good though portions a little small. Slaw was dry and fries undercooked. Enjoyed the beans and collard greens. Good atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank CopeKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stubb's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing