We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent BBQ, not the very best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stubb's Bar-B-Q

Stubb's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #83 of 3,684 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,417 reviews
568 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ, not the very best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice somewhat traditional restaurant with decent Texan BBQ, however not the very very best available, compared to e.g. the Goode company BBQ in Houston. However still quite ok. Regrettably we could not sit outside on a nice October sunday since the stage was being configured for a performance later.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    286
    172
    49
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Huh?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'm not from Texas, so maybe I just don't get it-- but I was really dissatisfied with the barbeque at this restaurant. It had zero flavor and was really overpriced. The restaurant's ambience was just Okay. No live music when I was there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Concert venue in the back! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

If you get a chance, check our the concert venue in the back. Outdoors. Intimate. Memorable. Awesome. It's a great find in Austin!

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Texas Barbeque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We asked the front desk at our hotel what was a great barbeque joint off the beaten track in Austin. While not off the beaten track, it was definitely first rate barbeque. The pulled pork
and brisket was excellent. Their own homemade barbeque sauce was outstanding.Informal, you order at the bar, relaxed and down home. Definitely recommended for a good value authentic
Texas Barbeque lunch and beer....the IPA on draft was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Average BBQ, but good concert venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had tickets for a performance at Stubbs, so we had dinner in the restaurant prior to the show. It wasn't quite as good as the reviews made it out to be - average brisket and unremarkable sides. The spare ribs were surprisingly good, but the meal overall was average. Fortunately the music more than made up for it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stubb's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing