We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous margaritas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Cactus Mexican Grill & Margarita Bar

Iron Cactus Mexican Grill & Margarita Bar
Ranked #61 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fabulous margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came here for dinner. The food was delicious--I had the veggie enchiladas and they tasted so good! The guacamole made for each individual table was so delicious and fresh. The real star of the show, however, were the margaritas! SO GOOD! Definitely come and plan to get one (or more than one) delicious margarita.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_faw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    331
    134
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fun Rooftop for drinks and snacks, food not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its a touristy restaurant with bar-quality tex mex. Not that great. What is great: the rooftop! Go there when you don't need to eat a meal, just hang out drinking beers. The margaritas were nothing special. The staff is so friendly and relaxed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food but Small Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

While visiting a few attractions in downtown Austin my son directed us to one of his favorite restaurants, the Iron Cactus. We snagged a seat on their 3rd floor patio where we were kept cool by the misters and a nice breeze. It had a great view of the city and the service was attentive and friendly. This place had some of the best Mexican food I have had. Chips were light and fresh and served with both a regular salsa and some delicious roasted red pepper salsa. The meals, which included steak and chicken fajitas, Camarones a la Parilla which in English are jumbo shrimp stuffed with jalapeño pepper and Panela cheese then wrapped in bacon, and Pollo Flameado, a blackened chicken breast topped with Panela cheese and roasted red peppers with green chile mashed potatoes, were flavorful and plentiful. Now I am hungry all over again! The only downside were the smaller than average tequila drinks. I had a blood orange margarita, which was really tasty, and my son had a black pepper and basil Tini, and we all wished we had more. I would definitely stop here again just to try out some of their other dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Vacationplanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eh....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The food was good but the service was horrible. The waiter seemed lost and our food took forever to arrive and was wrong. The place isn't cheap but not bad for being on 6th street. I had the shrimp cocktail and it was actually really good. I'd come back if service improved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDC_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eh....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is okay, nothing impressive. Chips were out of a bag (generic- Target brand is better). Chicken for fajitas and salads was dry. Veggies seemed pretty fresh, but that was probably the highlight of the meal. Also, service was friendly and somewhat quick, but there are probably better options in town, especially for Tex-Mex.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Cactus Mexican Grill & Margarita Bar also viewed

 

Been to Iron Cactus Mexican Grill & Margarita Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing