We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fun, Great food”

Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill
Ranked #17 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill takes you back to a simpler time. Comfortable and familiar, relaxed and easygoing, Moonshine greets guests like family. Serving up great cooking with an innovative take on classic American comfort food, Moonshine's menu satisfies even the big city tastes.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really fun, Great food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great informal restaurant with delicious food, great service and a fun bar scene.
The only downside is that it is so popular you might have to wait in line but it s SO worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinySeasideDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    655
    143
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try the horseradish crusted salmon”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in town and got a recommendation from the hotel for a nearby restaurant. They suggested Moonshine so we gave it a try. We weren't disappointed. I ate the Horseradish crusted salmon with sides of carrots, squash, and sweet potatoes. It was delicious. In fact, it was much better than the outside appearance of the restaurant might make you think. The service was excellent...the wait staff was attentive and the food was delivered hot. Give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank BruceR_2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beware of the Convention Crowds!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The title may be a little ironic, considering we were part of one of the conventions, but here's your tip: if you want to go here, don't go at lunch if there is a convention across the street OR go while they're back in their meetings. LONG wait during lunch, so be aware of what's going on. We ate outdoors (in February!) and it was great. The food was good. I was on a meatloaf crusade during this trip and ate at three different places offering meatloaf. Kind of dry, kind of crumbly, but...THE GRITS ARE TO DIE FOR. I never liked grits until I had them at the Moonshine. You HAVE to try grits there even if you've had a bad grits experience before. So tasty. Cheese and peppers. The waitstaff are excellent. Manage you schedule and try this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPuget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The dinner was awesome. They were busy and I sat at the bar with a co-worker. Dining at the bar was actually a good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“LONG Wait Time - Good Food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was there with 12 girl friends (they don't take reservations) and we were told the wait was an hour, and we got seated after it had been 2 hours, which was ridiculous.

Food was good, drinks were good, service was good, but next time I'll go somewhere that doesn't have such a ridiculous wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing