We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Austin, and Vegetarian Friendly Too”
Review of Eastside Cafe

Eastside Cafe
Ranked #99 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: University of Texas
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Austin, and Vegetarian Friendly Too”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

In a nice old house in East Austin. The food and service were good, and it has a good wine selection. The atmosphere is very "Austin," so a good place to go to get a feel for the city. The restaurant was very vegetarian friendly. I had the roasted vegetable enchiladas, and I highly suggest them. The restaurant has been there for years, and it has remained one of my favorites when I visit the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    103
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Another east side restaurant in an old residence.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Creative menu with some highlights but overall nothing special.
Very near the Salty Sow restaurant on the east side of Interstate Highway 35, I enjoyed my meal but see no reason to return. It just wasn't memorable.
The service was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Charming Little Place with Good Food”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Eastside Cafe is on a strip of Manor Rd right of I 35 that is seeing a lot of gentrification. A lot of old homes and buildings are being converted into restaurants, shops, bars, and small plots of organic gardens that supply some of the restaurants. Eastside is one of these places, a charming older home converted into a charming, quaint restaurant. They have a large garden on the premise (complete with chickens) that they source from and you are welcome to stroll through it.
The interior is quaint with all of the home's former bedrooms, living room etc.. being turned into dining rooms with hardwood floors, old fireplaces, and other remnants of the former rooms. Most of the rooms are quite small some having no more than 4 tables so the dining rooms can get quite noisy when full (no thanks to the small space and hardwood floors) and privacy is non existant as you can easily hear conversations of tables next to you without even trying. We were sat next to a couple on a blind date and it was a little awkward hearing the conversation (it's unavoidable when, like us, you are a party of 2 and 1 leaves to go the restroom and your sitting there alone). Our first time here was a late lunch and the restaurant was pretty empty. Next visit was for a Friday night dinner and it was very busy and noisy.
All of this said it is still a nice atmosphere.

The food both times was very good: the baked brie with apple chutney appetizer is fun and tasty. The garden burger is fresh and robust. Beef and goat cheese enchiladas with choice of 3 sauces is inventive and delicious (and pretty large). Artichoke manicotti filled with vegetables, pistachios, and tomato cream sauce is savory. And the smoked salmon ravioli is amazing. Everything seems really good here.

This is a nice place in a nice setting with good food, it has not disappointed yet. One of my favourites in Austin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had lunch with my husband and we shared the meatloaf and the Friday catfish. The meatloaf was probably one of the best I've ever had. It was light, not densely packed like you get sometimes. And the tomato sauce was very tasty. Catfish had a nice crust, but I prefer a cornmeal crust rather than panko. It could also have used some seasoning in the coating; it was kind of bland. Mac and cheese was a little dry, and could have used much more cheese.

I do admire their garden behind the restaurant. Parking is very limited - you may have to park a couple blocks away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint & delicious”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Went on a friend's recommendation, & keep going back! The place is really cute (I love restaurants in old houses) and the food is fantastic. Only drawback is the parking as there's not much of it. That won't keep us away though.

Helpful?
Thank NancyMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing