We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exceptional.”
Review of Eastside Cafe

Eastside Cafe
Ranked #79 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: University of Texas
las vegas, nv
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Close to the university we met some friends there for lunch. I had the pot stickers which were just OK, wife had a salad. There emphasis would seem to be we grow our own, veggies that is. Probably would never have gone there is it wasn't suggested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LVSCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    103
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome food !!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in Austin on vacation and looking for local food. We stopped in for lunch and everything was fantastic!!
The mushroom crepes were excellent, the chicken spinach crepes we're wonderful. The service, the ambience -- all great! Would definitely come back .

Helpful?
Thank Leigh9135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cherry Cobler!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been eating here about once a month for 3 years. This restaurant is consistently good. I really like the Field Greens salad, the veggie burger, soup and many other entries (they change). The people are friendly and the restored house is comfortable. They grow many of their herbs and salad greens and vegetables in the garden in back of the restaurant. My husband and I ate there this weekend and we ordered the Cherry cobbler for dessert, this turned out to be one of the best cobblers I have ever tasted, light on dough, big on Cherries! This was one of the first "Green" restaurants in Austin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Lovely Dinner Despite Fighting UT Football Traffic.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Note to self, never make reservations at a restaurant that is located close to UT's Memorial Stadium on game night. Okay, now that we're past that, let's discuss dinner. I took my husband to Eastside Cafe for his birthday after reading so many wonderful reviews.

It was a busy evening and we were seated in the Garden Room, though I secretly really wanted to be inside the main house from a quaintness perspective. Our waitress was friendly, attentive and helpful.

My husband ordered the pork tenderloin with gorgonzola cream sauce and garlic mashed potatoes, which was one of their specials. I chose the rosemary skewered pork tenderloin with balsamic butter glaze and mashed sweet potatoes. My husband's meal with definitely 5 star, perfectly cooked and delicious. Mine was 4 star, the pork was overcooked but the balsamic butter dipping sauce was amazing. We split the silk pie for dessert which was ridiculously decadent.

I'm looking forward to returning to this great place again and trying something completely different like the grilled meatloaf or mushroom crepes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homeowner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delightful ladies lunch... or soup”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect for a light meal in quaint setting, Service gracious and timely. All menu items very fresh and seasonal. Known for their creative soups. Parking is a bit quirky. Our group included two teens, a couple and a vegetarian and all ate very well. Nice wine list and rotating wines by the glass on the chalk board. Cute house setting...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kennellyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing