We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food my French companion had in the U.S.”
Review of Eastside Cafe

Eastside Cafe
Ranked #70 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: University of Texas
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best food my French companion had in the U.S.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a year of eating TexMex in Austin, my French companion reveled at the food at Eastside Cafe. I enjoyed my meal but was a bit disappointed in that I could have had the same meal on the East coast. The place is homey and the service is warm and attentive. While Eastside aspire, by pricing, to be fine dining, it fell a bit short. Everything was tasty, but not memorable, even though I ordered what the waitress said were specialties. I can imagine that vegetarians might like the inventive dishes here. Sorry I couldn't have been more enthusiastic. My friend's excellent and my average, averaged out to be "very good"!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verycriticaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    103
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh, Full Flavored Goodness”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I tried Eastside for the first time last week and it was amazing!! No wonder this place constantly has a long wait... Everything is organic (much of it from their garden) and it really makes a difference in the flavor. This place has something for everyone, vegans, paleos, etc. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is the quintessential laid back Austin restaurant located 5 minutes from UT just east of the Interstate. My go to place when entertaining out of town guests. Fresh, tasty, healthy food. A nice rotation of homemade soups. Make sure to plan your visit with enough time to walk through the garden and visit the chickens.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A+ Experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have been eating at Eastside Cafe for many years although I live two hours away. I have taken every relative and friend who travels to Austin with me. Last Tuesday evening, I brought three friends together. The atmosphere was relaxed and homelike, and Although many other patrons were there, we were encouraged to take our time...where does that ever happen these days? What a place! Did I mention everything they make is delicious? Recommend: wild mushroom crepes, manicotti, crusted catfish, acorn squash, and of course, the feta cheese dressing. Room for dessert? Chocolate Torte with raspberry purée.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caplpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“long-standing Austin favorite”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Eastside cafe is famous for serving fresh veggies right from the garden on the grounds. It's an east-Austin favorite not far from the UT campus and downtown. Can be busy at lunch but worth the wait!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lmhlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing