We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks. Excellent service. Never disappoints.”

Eddie V's Prime Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie V's Prime Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: San Jacinto
Description: If you want seafood, the buzz in town is Eddie V's Edgewater Grille. The Gulf Coast menu features lots of seafood - oysters, gulf snapper, fresh tuna, lobster, plus great prime steaks and chops. Expect a hip and high energy dining experience. Savor classic seafood starters like oysters on the half shell, fried coldwater baby lobster tail, and famous All Lump Crab Cakes. The extensive wine list features over 150 selections.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great steaks. Excellent service. Never disappoints.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always an outstanding experience. We sit in the bar on Sundays or Mondays for All night happy hour specials including the full menu. Corn and crab chowder is great. NY Strip is always perfectly done to order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    296
    78
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was able to walk in and be seated without a reservation. The food was very good as we're the drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcooper285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best chain for fine dining seafood”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Eddie Vs is by far my favorite spot when I'm choosing amongst the large chain fine dining establishments. The menu is fabulous, I've had almost all the fish options. The Hong Kong Styke Sea Bass and the Parmesan crusted sole are my favorites. I am not a big fan of the filet here as they serve it sliced.

Appetizer favorites, the pork dumplings, lobster bisque, calamari and lobster tacos are all amazing. The crab cake is great too, ** they have certain appetizers on the happy hour menu if you can get here for an early dinner.

For sides, the Mac n cheese (with truffle) is to die for. Just go ahead and get a large order. The sautéed spinach is delicious as well,

For dessert, get the bananas foster. IT'S AMAZING. I would come here just for this dessert! The panna cotta is also delicious and relatively new to the menu,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No complaints - service or food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A business dinner with a party of six. Seated on time. A mid-week experience, but the place was packed. The waiter was very good. He obviously was experienced. He could actually have a conversation and take orders, provide other service. Even had a sense of humor. Five steaks were ordered. And one person had fish. I ordered a shrimp cocktail and was very pleased. Four nice shrimp, not mushy. Served with a cocktail sauce, a cream sauce of some sort and an "atomic" horseradish sauce. Ad yes, it was VERY much atomic. It was not creamy as is served on prim rib. The server did caution me about the heat in the horseradish. Three side dishes, which are served family style were ordered. Asparagus, their popular corn and rice. If you want plain corn or plain rice, don't bother ordering these dishes. Unique, and flavorful is what you find with the sides. Besides the great food and service, we were not rushed at all. Prices are in line with quality upscale restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful Restaurant to enjoy Austin”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We come o Eddie V's original location every time we come to Austin. Since our son started university in Austin, we will be coming more often.

First, definitely choose dining room option. Here comes my only complaint, why does management allow shorts, shirt and flip flops to this beautiful and classy restaurant, at least they should be limited to the bar/bistro side of the establishment?

Our menu (which we shared to make sure we experience many tastes offered by eddie V's) was:
- Yellowtail sashimi - awesome and spicy
- Tartare of Pacific Tuna - well balanced
- Halibut (special of the day) - will have another comment below
- 12 oz. Fillet (sliced) cooked perfectly to medium (dark pink)
- Sugar snaps with portabellas (probably better thn the min dish!)
- Truffled macaroni and cheese
- Caramelized panna cotta

The wine list is extensive with all price ranges covered.
We found a treasure: 2008 Muga Rioja Reserva (Tempranillo) for around $65

The service was incredible, we were 3 people and one of our guests was an expert wine buyer and restauranteur in NYC so we were all AMAZED when the manager came to us after our dinner was finished and told us that they would be taking off the Halibut from our bill!!! Apparently our amazing waiter (who had been working there for 7 years) noticed that our guest picked ONE bone from her fish. We never complained. We in fact asked that we pay for the wonderfully prepared fish but they would not hear of it !

The food is only surpassed by dedicated team of workers who take pride in their service and Eddie V's establishment.

We made reservations for the next Friday as we left :-)
When you find something good - stick to it ...


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Levent-Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie V's Prime Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Eddie V's Prime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing