We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest Interior Mexican In The USA”
Review of Fonda San Miguel

Fonda San Miguel
Ranked #22 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Finest Interior Mexican In The USA”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As you walk into the door of Fonda San Miguel you will taken back into time and place of a old Mexican hacineda. The art work on every wall will draw you deeper into this wonderful Austin ,Texas historic culinary wonderland. The attention to detail,service,quality,consistency of food is what separtes this from all the rest. No Refried Beans here. We had Sunday brunch and the Texas quail were juicy and tasty along with 4 other meat choices. The selction of food presented on the long tables are dishes from several areas of Mexico. The food in not your fatty Fat Tex-Mex but healty organic natural market prepared interior Mexican. Mole, sauces, chiles at this eattery will awaken the Mexican spirit in you. I can honestly tell you this is the best, I have been dining here for 15 years and drive two hours each way per month to dine here. I have customers that come in to our gallery in San Antonio and they ask where the best Mexican food is in San Antonio and I send them two hours north to Austin. Want to empress your date, your boss, your clients out of town guess this is the place, PS the drinks are wonderful. I know the owner of this place and have done book-signings over the past years with them and have not been offered anything in return for writing this review. I would send my mother here. Bon Appetit

Matt ,La Vida Gallery, San Antonio Txas

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    118
    35
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Find in Austin”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Really had a wonderful meal out with family at Fonda San Miguel. We ate way too much but had such a good time doing it. Like visiting Mexico City in the middle of Austin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Make a reservation.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

You'll wait for a while or eat in the bar when a table comes open there if you don't make a reservation. I will actually make the trip to Austin for the cochinita pibil here when I don't feel like going through the trouble of making it myself. The margaritas are excellent, the wait-staff is very professional, and the restaurant itself is one of the most beautiful places in Texas. There are plenty of reasons why this restaurant has remained so popular in Austin for so many years. Parking can be an issue, and it's a little pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TAskewTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Visit México, without leaving Austin”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Open the door and step into Mexico. I love Tex-Mex, but this is more interior Mexican fare. It's very tasty, but not cheap. The frozen margaritas are some of the best in Austin - and that says a lot.

The decor, from the atrium to the seating area, alone are worth the trip. If you'd like a nice night out and crave Mexican, this is the place to go. On the weekend definitely think about making a reservation. Worst case though you can chat over margaritas and appetizers in the striking atrium.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATX_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I Ate too Much”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We asked plenty of Austinites for restaurant suggestions and pretty much everyone suggested Fonda San Miguel as the best Mexican option. Make a reservation (we were lucky that we were able to get one at the last minute). It is a lovely building and the staff was warm without fawning. The Ancho Rellano is as interesting as it is tasty. The food isn't TexMex, it is actually Mexican.
The location isn't convenient to much, but it was worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda San Miguel also viewed

 

Been to Fonda San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing