We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soooooo goooood!!”
Review of Fonda San Miguel

Fonda San Miguel
Ranked #22 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, tx
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“soooooo goooood!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

i love this place!! the food is fantastic!! the chile relleno with the raisins is to die for! the bar area has a really nice atmosphere in the atrium and the staff is very friendly. this is great place for both a group or a date night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    118
    35
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have dined here several times and will return. It is a pretty restaurant and the menu is varied and good. We started with the Miguel appetizer and it was perfect for four of us. The scallops in chipotle cream are very flavorful and everyone in our group always has a good time there. Service is good, but get a reservation for Fridays or Saturday nights.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joangoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice job, great food, great margaritas”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We attended a wedding rehearsal dinner at Fonda San Miguel, and the food was great. I had the cochinita pibil, piglet in a Yucatecan sauce. Those who had the enchiladas were also very pleased. I'd like to return to try their chile relleno, but that will have to wait for my next visit to Austin. The decor was fabulous, it reminded me a bit of Haciendo de los Morales, a great Mexico City restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant had a colorful decor. The ceilings were high which was nice, but the noise level was very high. If you wear hearing aides it is very, very uncomfortable. The staff and waiters received the 3 stars. They were very good. The food was ok, not excellent. They try to create different dishes out of a plain chili relleno. I am adding a picture for you to see. The chips and salsa were good. Since it was my first visit I didn't want to be too hard on the restaurant. I gave it an average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golftigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
220 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Only wish they followed their own cookbook”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had been wanting to visit for a long time. I had been cooking from their excellent cookbook for a while and wanted to experience the real thing. What a disappointment. The food was really bland, a sort of watered-down Mexican for little old ladies and babies. Their version of tortilla soup was perhaps the worst in Austin; it was run through a blender, UGH! They need to get back to their roots. The place is quite beautiful however, but beauty rarely fills the stomach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerReady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonda San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing