We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!”

South Congress Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
South Congress Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The food was delicious - interesting and subtle twists on traditional dishes. The migas was fabulous. The wait staff was attentive and when out of their way to find something my 9 year old would eat in a pretty foody place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prontoeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    198
    62
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
275 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Loud, noisy, difficult to have a conversation. Food is excellent but over priced for portion size and slow service. Had the short rib hash which was very tasty but short on the short rib meat which apparently is the reason for the name. Others had the carrot cake French toast which wAs excellent and not to be missed. The steak and migas was also very good but small portions. The croquette was also very good. Bottom line is this....if you are going here, plan to wait to be seated, wait for drinks , and wait for your food . If you have a lot of time and money you will like this place (if only they could tone down the noise).

Helpful?
Thank FoodfanUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
751 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great first meal in Austin”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We arrived in Austin after a long day of travel (a snow storm in Nova Scotia caused some delays), and walked the SoCo area looking for a place to eat. The restaurants were all busy because of a sporting event that day, but there was room at the South Congress Cafe. This was a super find (and we didn't even have our devises to check out Trip Advisor recommendations beforehand). Our very friendly and accommodating waiter, Gilbert, welcomed us to Texas and gave us some much appreciated travel advice. My husband was on a quest to discover IPA beers from Texas and had his first one with his meal. I had a lamb chop special, which was lightly spiced with curry and served with mini-squash topped with parmesan and mint. My husband had a special of sea bass; both meals were tasty and reasonably priced. We split an amazing dessert of Dried Cherry and Pecan Bread Pudding with Custard Sauce served with Amy's Mexican Ice Cream. It was delicious with cappuccino. Because the restaurant is in one room, it can be noisy - we had a loud group in the booth behind us who seemed totally oblivious to everyone in the place hearing all their conversation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The food hit the spot nicely”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Going to Austin to visit the kids is also an opportunity to try some new place to eat. This time, we let our daughter select the place and she came up with the South Congress Cafe, in the popular SOCO area of Austin. The place is well decorated and gives a warm feeling. The waitress was great. She was very helpful with the menu and the wine list. The appetizer we really enjoyed was the pecan crusted goat cheese. The entrees were tasty. I liked my pork belly dish, while my wife enjoyed the beef milanesa (very tender medallions) The venison meatloaf was nice and spicy and I was surprised seeing our daughter enjoying game for the first time. (may be there is hope)

One thing that the restaurant people did was sending us a text reminder of our preselected check in time. Because we were going to be late, we sent a message back about the approximate time we would be there and they took care of it. Modern methods used efficiently, I suppose. Overall, a very nice experience,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SoCo Coolness”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant has a nice look and vibe to it while being in the heart of SoCo. We went for lunch and had great soups and salads. Their menu is both adventurous and standard, but either direction we went, we were not disappointed. save room for dessert.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing