We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service”

South Congress Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
South Congress Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been here a few times. The food is really great, and they have a nice selection. But the service has been slow every time. I'm not sure why they haven't fixed it. I'll still go back, but will make sure I have plenty of time. The food is worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KateZ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    198
    62
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great brunch!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Order the crab cake eggs benedict for brunch. It's usually not on the menu and it's fabulous! The carrot cake french toast is also good - but it's rich, so order one for the table as a starter. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place for Brunch on the Weekends”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great brunch place even through the wait. If you have to wait they have great bartenders who will start you off with a Peach Bellini or a great mimosa. All the items on the brunch menu are great but be warned they have pretty big proportions. It sits on South Congress with fun funky shops.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fun find”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the outside we weren't even sure they were open - looks like a warehouse or something. Inside it was bright and really nice! We had a 15 minute wait at 2:30 on a holiday monday, so I am sure they must get quite busy. Give phone number and they will text when table is ready. Didn't know that they had been featured on a food network show for the carrot cake french toast, but upon hearing that my son had to try it. He loved it and took the leftovers home. I had a wonderful seared scallop and fennel salad. Wait staff friendly and seem to all help each other out (drink refills etc).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Don't forget to call ahead on Friday and Saturday, because this place is packed. The calamari, seafood risotto and sea bass were fantastic. The wine list is short, but there are some good selections. Give it a try; you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank AggieGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing