We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When feeling bad is feel good”
Review of Casino El Camino

Casino El Camino
Ranked #88 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bay Area, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“When feeling bad is feel good”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went here with a brit friend that loves their chili fries. Apparently this was the third or fourth day in a row that he had them. So of course, I had to see what all the fuss was about.

The restaurant is a neighborhood hole in the wall. You order at the window, find a place to sit and pick up your food when its ready.

Atmosphere is loud and a bit dark on the inside. Mid day, juke box music was cranked and we moved upstairs to talk, although that didn't help all that much. We would have moved outside if not for the rain.

Saw the burgers - huge! Looked juicy and delicious. Our chili fries took at least 30 minutes - not sure what the holdup was - it was not overly crowded. The meal was very good. The chili was a meat chili, no beans. Lots of cheese and onions and good flavor. But honestly, I could not see eating this multiple times in one week, let alone 4 days in a row like my friend. Oh the british.

Service was ok - the girl taking drink orders showed up twice - then we never saw her again. As mentioned previously, the food took unexpectedly long to get to us.

Left the restaurant feeling stuffed with grease and wanted to take back the previous hours worth or gorging. It was tasty going down but regretful on the flipside

I'd go here again. If I lived nearby, I could see eating here maybe once every couple of months - but it would probably not be a regular place for me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    118
    47
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Burgers are well worth the wait! Perfect for two people. Lunch break is probably not the best time to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank marobles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not what you'd expect!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we went into this lil bar on 6th. Very gothic, and "different" inside. the bar is up front and if you want food you go to the back and order and pick up. now, 40 minute wait for their burgers which they claim a "famous"... I'd never heard of them BUT the burgers were awesome!!! hot wings were ehhh ok, they need more flavors to offer besides, HOT and super HOT (mild was HOT)... The staff was inked and pierced but nice as can be and VERY acomodating. The owner or mgr. really took care of people! We didn't even drink, just ate and while there we noticed him taking care of every person even the idiots that wanted to cause trouble.... Hats off to a person that knows how to run a business

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Neat place, but different from how its portrayed on Triple D. The show portrayed the patrons as being from all walks, i.e., business types, families etc., but the crowd I encountered was more like grunge/biker types, which is not a problem, just not suitable for some. Also the place is very dark unlike TV where all quirkiness could be seen in a well lit atmosphere. Had the KC burger and the wife had a hot dog, all cooked to order. Service was so-so. Remember its a bar/night club first.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in funky bar”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Delicious burgers made with habeneros and jalepeno cheese on specialty bun. Order the Salsa Verde fried on the side. Place has some funky wild art. Workers are pierced and tatted up but very nice. Great jukebox. Look up more on Food Network Diners, Dives and Drive-ins-got high marks from Guy Fieri who drives around the country looking for off-beat places. This place fits his mold perfectly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fespo7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino El Camino also viewed

 

Been to Casino El Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing