We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for dainty eaters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Juan in a Million

Juan in a Million
Ranked #62 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for dainty eaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've enjoyed two visits to Juan in a Million in the past couple of years, having been introduced to it by some great friends in nearby Buda. Both times were after church on Sunday, and both times were terrific. The signature dish, of course, is the one the place is named for, and it's highly recommended. Don't be alarmed when the plate is set before you; few people can consume the whole thing at one sitting, and in fact it's expected that you will be taking home more than half of it. My advice: Order at least four extra tortillas (six would be better), and plan on taking three or four servings home with you. Parking can be a challenge, as the restaurant's lot is fairly small, but you should be able to find a spot on the curb within a short block's stroll. Sundays are very busy, but they're well-staffed and efficient. (Oh, and if you like guacamole, be aware that one side order is plenty enough for two people -- and it's excellent.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    98
    50
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
465 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just ok TexMex resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

There were 5 adults going to lunch we ordered the Nachos and the cheese dip the Nachos were ok but the cheese dip was $5 for a very small bowl and even with that only half eaten inbetween 5 adults each had lunch mostly the daily special which the waitress got one order wrong and never refilled our drinks so service sucked the food was just ok so with so many wonderful TexMex restaurants in Austin would never go back to this one went to this one R/T Man vs Food would not recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hospitality was impeccable, met the owner, Juan, who is a sweet heart, service was excellent, eager to help in any way they can. Food was awesome, price was great, needed a "to go" box! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jqg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HUGE PORTIONS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Friends took us to this local insiders haunt. Looks umm 'dodgy' from the outside but the local tex-mex style food surely made up for it. Breakfast burritos were amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank O5062ZMsarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the beef fajita tacos were as good as I have tasted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This place was excellent. I saw all the reviews on yelp and thought I would give it a shot. The beef fajita tacos were perfect. The food was authentic. They sold sodas by the can which was very old expensive. The neighborhood was pretty shady down the street from a shelter. I will be back when I go back to Austin.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RayNacogdoches_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juan in a Million also viewed

 

Been to Juan in a Million? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing