We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Excellent Cuisine ... 'Very Dated' Interior Decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mattie's at Green Pastures

Mattie's at Green Pastures
Ranked #457 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent Cuisine ... 'Very Dated' Interior Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Delightful, sunny Saturday afternoon lunch for us 3 Austinites with our 2 out-of-town family relatives from San Mateo County, CA (in the San Francisco Bay area) with a casual stroll afterwards, around the lush grassy grounds among the several colorful peacocks and baby chicks. Excellent lunch entrees of 'chunky' lobster soup, flat iron beef steak with pommes frites, seafood crepes and tuna & tomato/garlic appetizer. Wait service could have bit a bit more personal and attentive ~ beyond the simple filling of ice water glasses and ice tea. Desserts of decadent chocolate cake and berry-drizzled cheesecake complemented the lovely luncheon meal. All in all the food was delicious, some of the best we've eaten in area restaurants, however, the mansion's décor has become quite outdated and the dining tables are wobbly. (One of our guests had to fold a white lunch napkin under his plate to create a more even surface because the table leaf was bent...) Major refurbishing of this mansion restaurant needs to match the greatness of the restaurant's chef!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afreebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    26
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always taking our guests here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We love this place. Any time we have guests come to town this is always one of our stops! Great food and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureGirl0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch In An Historical Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After eating at The Salt Lick the previous Friday night, we didn't think there could be another restaurant that could match our expectations. I freely admit I was wrong. The gentility of the South was on full display. From the baby grand piano to the sumptuousness and grandeur of the food, Sunday brunch will never be the same. Salads of every description and imagination, side dishes that were prepared with flair and roast beef cooked to perfection, one couldn't ask for more. But have I mentioned the desserts? Death By Chocolate would be an apt description. Though a buffet, the table service was attentive and polite. Afterwards, stroll the grounds and watch the peacocks strut. All in all, a very enjoyable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Referee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Five star brunch at a 3 star price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our experience here was great - the setting, the service, the food, and even the pianist playing at the buffet. The food was like getting a gourmet tasting meal at a buffet - amazing flavors, presentation and variety. Very unique small plates, hot and cold soups, and the desserts!! Chocolate dipped bacon, a chocolate fondue fountain, and more. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shiloh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Taste of the South Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've been to Green Pastures for special dinners, but recently took two out of state friends here for Sunday Brunch. Great place to give our Yankee friends a taste of the South; Cheesy Grits, hush puppies, bottomless Milk Punch (kicks Mimosas butt). Currently their price for brunch at $36 per person for all you can eat buffet is a real bargain. And this isn't a buffet like Golden Corral or the likes. Their buffet food is fresh, fabulous and too extensive to list everything here. I recommend you go to their website and look over their menus (http://greenpasturesrestaurant.com/page/o967/The_Food.html). The setting is wonderful too. A beautiful old Victorian home that has been added on to numerous times as the restaurant grew, and charming wrap around porches one expects to see in the South. You forget your in the middle of the city as soon as you drive up to Green Pastures. The restaurant sits on seven acres shaded by massive Live Oaks with numerous peacocks wandering the grounds, including one gorgeous all white male that strutted his stuff for us the day we were there giving us quite the show. And if you're into history this place has an interesting one (http://www.austinchronicle.com/food/2012-05-18/koock-faulk-family-hospitality-lives-on/). I guarantee you won't be disappointed. We are taking more friends and relatives there this Sunday for what else... Brunch and Milk Punch. Can't wait. One tip: do make reservations ahead of time. And they can handle any size group. We had 7 with us last trip and may have as many 17 this visit. Also, ask if possible, to be seated in the Sun Porch with great views of the grounds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OperaLady1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattie's at Green Pastures also viewed

 

Been to Mattie's at Green Pastures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing