We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very popular, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Din Ho Chinese BBQ

Din Ho Chinese BBQ
Ranked #507 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: With every dish made fresh to order, ducks, chickens and pigs hanging by the window and tanks filled with live lobsters and crabs, Din Ho guarantees you a truly authentic experience. Our restaurant stands out as the place to go for Chinese cuisine in the heart of Texas and has garnered numerous recognitions and rewards including the Austin Chronicle’s readers’ poll award for best Chinese three years in a row.A definite must have when dining with us is our Beijing duck. Roasted to perfection with crispy skin and succulent moist meat, each platter of duck is served with 10 fluffy buns, green onion and sweet bean sauce. Another customer favorite is hot and sour soup which is made from scratch. If you cannot decide what to order, our friendly and helpful staff can help you choose something to suit your taste! On top of all our food offerings, we also carry various brands of beer and wine.We are a lively place for all sorts of gatherings, whether you’re eating out with family or catching up with old friends, please stop by for an amazing dining experience.
Austin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very popular, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is one of our favorite Chinese restaurants, though we often do take out rather than dine in.

Just about everything that we have tried has been very good. We normally tend to the spicy entrees, rather than the BBQ, but this is really a matter of our preference. We have had the BBQ and is quite good. There are several noodle selections that have been excellent. Last night we kept to our spicy chicken and beef selections and were not disappointed.

This is a very, very popular restaurant so be prepared to wait on weekend evenings. I have seen this restaurant crowded right up to closing time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank k5tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Taste of great Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Big fan of Din Ho. Very yummy Chinese food, although they dont have dimsums on their menu. But try their sauteed bokchoy, pan fried noodles and seabass in special salt, and you'll be hooked. Bursting with flavour, their quantities are pretty good too. Great place for a family dinner or lunch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neem_neem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Packed, noisy, great food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here with family on Saturday night and could tell quickly it was a favorite with locals, especially those of Asian heritage. Large round table was perfect for the 6 of us, and we were all happy with the food. Service was fun to watch as the servers scurried around in the crowd, all trying mightily to satisfy diners. Service a bit spotty (forgot our soup, quickly made good), but all in all we had a fine night. Shrimp dishes were particularly good, as was orange beef.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TX2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“MMMMMMMBBQ PORK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great place to go with a group of friends. The big round tables and easygoing atmosphere lend to free flowing conversation. The BBQ pork is delicious and succulent, and my main reason for eating there. The pork fried rice is also pretty good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese restaurant in Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are looking for a huge menu, great Chinese food, and good service -- check out the Din Ho. The place is not easy to find (unless you have a GPS and their address) but just look for the Target on 183 and/or the Hong Kong Supermarket in that area. The menu is very large - so you should be able to find plenty of great options to dine on.
The lobster stir-fry is great. And so are the various greens stir-fried as well.
If you speak Chinese - you can also practice your skills - added bonus - the staff will help you do so and is more than ready to speak with you

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickInChina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Ho Chinese BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Din Ho Chinese BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing