We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese BBQ as good as the best in Hong Kong!”
Review of Din Ho Chinese BBQ

Din Ho Chinese BBQ
Ranked #449 of 3,872 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: With every dish made fresh to order, ducks, chickens and pigs hanging by the window and tanks filled with live lobsters and crabs, Din Ho guarantees you a truly authentic experience. Our restaurant stands out as the place to go for Chinese cuisine in the heart of Texas and has garnered numerous recognitions and rewards including the Austin Chronicle’s readers’ poll award for best Chinese three years in a row.A definite must have when dining with us is our Beijing duck. Roasted to perfection with crispy skin and succulent moist meat, each platter of duck is served with 10 fluffy buns, green onion and sweet bean sauce. Another customer favorite is hot and sour soup which is made from scratch. If you cannot decide what to order, our friendly and helpful staff can help you choose something to suit your taste! On top of all our food offerings, we also carry various brands of beer and wine.We are a lively place for all sorts of gatherings, whether you’re eating out with family or catching up with old friends, please stop by for an amazing dining experience.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the outside of this place, or it's location. If you are in search of superb roast duck/pork get to Din Ho, you will not be disappointed. Extremely authentic & very reasonable prices.

Din Ho = BBQ done right :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BritBoyInFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Owner at Din Ho Chinese BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We like that tagline! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's our pleasure to serve up tasty, authentic cuisine for you to enjoy. We'd love to host you again the next time you're in town!

Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Living in Shanghai, we have a real appreciation of authentic Chinese food, and Din Ho is by far the best we've come across outside of China. We've been going to dinner there for years, usually with a group, but often just as a couple, and it's always top notch. We love the food (our favorite dish is the walnut shrimp) and atmosphere. The owner, Stephanie, is very friendly, bringing us hot tea and chitchat, and will often have her chef make us up something special when we come to visit. I can't recommend highly enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Owner at Din Ho Chinese BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Your recommendations as a Shanghai resident really means a lot! It's always a joy hosting and chatting with you when you visit. Thanks so much for leaving a review. I hope to see you soon!

Best,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

still one of our favorite family places to go to for authentic chinese food! just wished it was a bigger place on certain nights since it gets packed but the food never disappoints even though the wait staff sometimes does..always get the beef and chinese vegetable and crunchy lomein for the kids-family faves

Thank livelovex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Owner at Din Ho Chinese BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We're proud to be a favorite! Thank you for your review. I'm sorry if you've ever had a poor experience with our servers. We'll be sure that your service is on par with the food in the future. Thanks again!

Cheers,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

At the recommendation of a friend, we visited Din Ho recently and were very pleased at the quality and quantity of food. The vegetable dish we ordered, water spinach, was outstanding, as was the mixed seafood platter. The Chinese barbecue was also good, as was the hot and sour soup. Portions are large and on our visit the service was very prompt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grotshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Owner at Din Ho Chinese BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thanks for your review a few months back. I'm happy you got to try some of our dishes, and even happier you enjoyed them! We're pleased to serve you anytime - hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food is great and a little different than it is in Missouri. Prices are a little high but it was worth every bite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Haylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, Owner at Din Ho Chinese BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Haylie,

I'm so glad to hear we were worth every bite! Thanks for your review back in May. If you're ever back in the area, we'd love to host you again!

Take care,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Din Ho Chinese BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing