We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun in Austin”
Review of Evangeline Cafe

Evangeline Cafe
Ranked #152 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cajun in Austin”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am not a New Orleans foodie expert, but the food we had at Evangeline Cafe sure looked, smelled and tasted just like what we had in New Orleans. Absolutely wonderful! The po boys were generously packed and delicious.
It was our first visit to Austin, so we readily accepted a recommendation for this restaurant gem that is off the beaten path. The locals know!
Our first lunch was so good that we had to go back a second day. Unfortunately we couldn't get there in the evening for the live music. Service was prompt and friendly; prices are very reasonable. Decor is fun!
Evangeline Cafe does not disappoint!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 103PatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    58
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cajun, Texas style”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If your looking for authentic Cajun style cooking in the Austin , Tx. Area, head south of downtown to Evangeline's for everything from poor boy sandwiches to crawfish étouffée. They pack a crowd at lunch and dinner and offer live music in the evening as well. I went all the way and had the seafood dinner and it was fantastic. The wait staff is friendly and although they had a packed house the food came out quickly and hot and tasty. I would definitely go back, if only to try their seafood gumbo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marinaman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food and sometime live music”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food is excellent, service was very good. One of our friends Johnny Moeller was playing there with a band so he advised us don't miss the good food here. He was so right and the waitress is so friendly and came back to ask us if we needed anything else. Someone would fill the water or tea glass without being asked. If we are ever in Austin again I'm going back to order the shrimp. If you order a sandwich you can get home made chips and they are extremely good with a special sauce served on the side. It taste a little like thousand island but not that either. If you go to hear live music at 10pm there is a reasonable cover but the food is worth the trip whether you go for music or not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluesguy76120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level Contributor
914 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“A delish surprise!!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This off the beaten path cafe is delicious. It definitely has a New Orleans flavor---in its atmosphere and flavor. Get there early as it fills up fast. Live entertainment adds to the atmosphere. Efficient, fast service with delicious Cajun food!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Austin”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A restaurant in a strip shopping center away from downtown Austin? You bet! Great Cajun food. Authentic Cajun atmosphere. Even live Cajun music on certain nights. It is a great place to experience the true " Keep Austin Weird" scene.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnielsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evangeline Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Evangeline Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing