We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bistro style restruant”
Review of Cypress Grill

Cypress Grill
Ranked #257 of 3,742 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mopac Expressway
Description: Every now and then you find a place to eat that is truly special, where the food is great, the staff cares about you, a local funky joint with that true Austin neighborhood feel. Where you can bring the kids or or come out for date night with that special someone, catch some great live music or watch the game. It's a relaxing, casual atmosphere with seriously good food. Whether you're in the mood for something healthy, something naughty or you just want to fulfill your Louisiana cravings - we've got you covered - a Kid's Menu, a Full bar and Happy Hour 7 days a week! All of our food is made from scratch from our famous Crawfish Etouffée to our salad dressings to our sumptuous Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce. We are a Zero Trans Fat establishment so even when you're eating bad, it's still good! We offer fresh fish, flown in daily, our chicken is raised with no hormones or antibiotics ("never-ever"), delicious loacally-grown, organic veggies, and if you come to our New Orleans brunch, you'll enjoy organic, locally-sourced eggs plucked from pasture-raised chickens!
georgia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice bistro style restruant”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Went on recommendation of staffer from my Austin Office and was really good. The BBQ shrimp and Blackened fish was very good. Our server was very pleasant and not overly attentive. When we went they had a live jazz group that reminded me a little of upper Bourbon Street in NOLA

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent menu of choices and good service too!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The menu is chock full of choices that even the pickiest of eaters would be happy here. The service was prompt and accommodating. The food was so good, we went back two nights later for a second meal. The Shrimp Platter with fries is loaded with big shrimp lightly battered so that the flavor is full of shrimp and not just batter. The Shrimp Pasta Rockefeller was so delicious that I want to try to recreate the meal at my home. Too bad I was in town visiting and that I couldn't make this a regular place. Definitely will go back when I'm in Austin again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Phineas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went here to partly because it was near our hotel and featured live music (Thurs night) What a treat to discover such delicious food at a moderate price .. We were early enough for Happy hour... the margarita was great. The crawfish enchiladas were delicious . We couldn't resist the bourbon chocolate pecan pie OMG!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank perky149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistently on Target”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I love fried catfish and this is the place to be for a scrumptious fried catfish dinner or poor boy. The bread is delicious. I always get a side of red beans and rice to top it off perfectly. I know the strip center locale may not be perfect but the location is close to everything. The staff has always been attentive the times we have been there. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drippin_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here because of a half-price coupon we purchase from Travel-Zoo's Local Deals.
This restaurant sits in a strip center. Upon entering, we were not too sure what kind of a meal we would be getting. The atmosphere is not the best and quite sparse. A no frills casual dinning family restaurant, yes. A romantic, candle lit, Louisiana restaurant, no. If you can get over this then the food is excellent! Some of the best we have had.

We started with a nice cup of Jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage at 5.39 a cup. I had one of the house specialties, their New Orleans-Style BBQ Shrimp at $13.99 and my wife had their grilled 8 oz filet of Scottish King Salmon topped with their wonderful Crawfish Etouffée. This was by far the best dish at $15.99. Our daughter (who is not into seafood) choose the Chicken Fried Stake. Hey - this is Texas. This "has" to be on any given menu. I have to say it was the biggest serving we have seen. Served with Andouille gravy. Really a great meal and well cooked. She loved it to say the least. $10.49. We all shared a New Orleans Bread Pudding with Bourbon sauce which we wished we had more of. Fantastic. $5.49. Total bill of fare with tip was approx. $50.00. Neither an in-expensive nor expensive meal. The wait staff was excellent, good suggestions and friendly.

BTW, this is not just a Cajun food restaurant. Their menu offers a variety of food. From Burgers to Pot Roast and Pork Chops to Po-Boys. There is something for everybody. They also serve a weekend breakfast. Check their menu out at Cypressgrill.net.

My suggestion to management would be to cover the concrete floor with an inexpensive industrial carpet and maybe cover the tables with some kind of table cloths. Maybe plastic so that they can be cleaned and a paper mat put down after each dining. Maybe a candle at night would make a nice improvement. These would help the restaurant's atmosphere a great deal but still present a casual family place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelguy4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cypress Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing