We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Party Was Well Served”
Review of Matt's El Rancho

Matt's El Rancho
Ranked #75 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Austin
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our Party Was Well Served”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Invited family and friends to dine at El Rancho...16 of us. We went a little before the dinner rush. Service was great...food was very good...no complaints from anyone...wide range of selections by our group from enchiladas to fish tacos to carne guisada to frog legs...amazing menu choices.

I cannot eat the hot & spicy salsa anymore...they do not have a medium...one of the challenges as you get older, I suppose. Matt should consider salsa with different heat levels.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    148
    70
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best sausage/queso dip anywhere.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Bob Armstrong dip (with queso, guacamole, and sausage) is a must, along with a good margarita or cold beer. Everything on the menu is great, but I usually just go for the Bob Armstrong. It's like a drug...you will have to go back for a fix every now and then.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pilar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Fish Tacos can be ordered with grilled Redfish instead of Tilapia for several dollars more. Worth every penny. Succulent, firm. Served with a seasoned rice with cilantro vinaigrette and a nice jalapeno slaw. Fantastic.

A bit noisy, but everyone is having a great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I been going there since I was a little girl. The food is so good! Many faculty are still there for many years!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vwbusmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Food Despite Bell Pepper In My Coke”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived 4:15pm on a Saturday, and the restaurant was already filling up. I've lived here 40 yrs and never eaten here (because Chuy's is the reigning king), but we decided we'd better do it to say we did. Our waiter's smile was broken at first, but then he warmed up a bit. He said he'd worked there for 40 yrs! Salsa was muy hot. And we're not wusses. Chips were very thick and hard; warn your enamel. I asked for a Coke with a lime. He brought two slices of lime in the Coke, but also a wedge of bell pepper. Think that was a mistake. ?? Husband had The Deluxe Mexican plate--the taco meat tasted like it should. Queso was slathered on a chip, not in a ramekin like usual. I had fish tacos with chipotle sauce. Not exciting, but at least the fish was not "fishy." You know what I mean. Everyone got to pick either rainbow sherbet or a praline for dessert, so that was a nice treat. We left stuffed. I'm stuffed as I type this. Overall, a decent experience. Be warned that the construction in the area is insane. If we didn't have 100 people moving here a day for the last 20 yrs, we might actually have all the lanes functioning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matt's El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing