We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Matt's El Rancho

Matt's El Rancho
Ranked #72 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Austin
Driftwood, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have lived in the Austin area for several years and we were delighted to find Matt's. First of all, we love TexMex food, however most restaurants have do not have that good old fashioned taste of real TexMex cooking. Matt's El Rancho brings it! The shredded chicken chalupas, and chicken flautas were the best we've had in a long, long time. Now we have a "new" favorite TexMex restaurant. Can't wait to taste the fajitas and the chile rellenos.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarSic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    151
    71
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lago Vista
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Standby”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

An old standby for Austin. Good food. Big building. Lots of room. Sit outside by the FOUNTAIN and watch the birds dip CHIPS in the fountain to soften them up to eat. Always fun!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doogie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Matt's El Rancho--try to stop every visit we make to Austin, TX”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I were poor starving students at UT in the early 1970s in Austin, Texas, but we managed to cobble together enough for a once or twice per month trip to Matt's El Rancho (then on Town Lake, now out on South Lamar) for an authentic TexMex chile relleno--then, as now, topped with either red or green salsa, raisins and Texas pecans. I was in Austin this weekend on family business and found an excuse to visit again. I'm pleased to report that the chile relleno offerings are still not only on the menu but a featured item. My sister ordered a green chile sauce topped chicken chile relleno. I stuck with what I regard as classic fare--namely, red salsa topped cheese only chile relleno. We both swore ours was best. You should go and decide yourselves. You won't be disappointed. Yes, there are other classic TexMex offerings on the menu, but if you only visit Austin once or so per year, don't fail to partake of the chile relleno plate before venturing on to other dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Oldie, but Goodie”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family's been going to El Rancho for 20+ years and we're never disappointed. My favorite dishes: Bob Armstrong dip, fajitas and the chalupas. The place is popular, so go early on busy nights (like 5pm on Friday and Saturday) and, don't forget, they're closed on Tuesday!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Foot long enchiladas!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Matt's consistently serves the best Tex-Mex in Austin, if not the world. One visit and you'll be hooked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matt's El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing