We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Mercado

El Mercado
Ranked #524 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not that great.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant was located directly across from our hotel. The service was a bit aloof considering they were obviously college students. Food was average. I've had better at a chain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotelSnobMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    67
    30
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Tex Mex and even better margaritas”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Close proximity to the AT&T center. Appreciated the express lunch menus. Happy hour was great with a delicious strawberry margarita. Worth the visit. Colourful and laid back. Good prices.

Helpful?
Thank ldewit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to meet friends after work”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Convenient to downtown, laid back atmosphere. Spacious. Great margaritas and food is decent. They have free happy hour appetizers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nidiadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gret find!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Chips & salsa were excellent. Chips were very light & crispy. Kids bean & cheese nachos are huge. I had 2 cheese queso enchiladas - excellent! Husband had chicken burrito - excellent. Would certainly recommend. I am native Texan & know TexMex, not sure why there are a few low reviews. I also think I am a great critic & I say excellent! We ate at the Lavaca location. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runnergirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“fun place with cheap drinks”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The food won't blow your socks off, but it's fine tex mex. There are great happy hour drink specials, and the margaritas are usually strong. It's one of my favorite neighborhood hangouts and I appreciate its proximity to campus and capitol area offices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mercado also viewed

 

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing